Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Steve Smith to donate Global T20 Canada League earnings to grassroots cricket

Steve Smith will reportedly donate the earnings from Global T20 Canada League to grassroots cricket in Canada and Australia.

cricket Updated: Jun 01, 2018 13:51 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Steve Smith,Global T20 Canada League,Steve Smith cricket
Steve Smith will be making his return to cricket at the Global T20 Canada League.(REUTERS)

Steve Smith, who will be a marquee player at the Global T20 Canada League later this month, will reportedly donate his playing fee to grassroots cricket programs in Australia and Canada.

The Global T20 Canada League will be the first tournament for Steve Smith after the former Australian cricket team skipper was suspended for 12 months for his role in the ball-tampering scandal in Cape Town. According to a report in, Cricket Australia has allowed Smith to take part in the T20 competition and he will be donating his earnings to grassroots cricket.

READ | Why Wankhede Stadium is lucky for MS Dhoni - Harbhajan Singh explains

Steve Smith was supposed to captain Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 but the Indian authorities did not allow him to play in the league after the suspension. However, the CA has given him the green light to take part in the inaugural edition of the Global T20 Canada League.

READ | KL Rahul hopes to use IPL 2018 experience to become Indian cricket team’s top finisher

The Global T20 Canada League will consist of six teams - Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks – with a sixth consisting entirely of players from West Indies as part of an official partnership with Cricket West Indies (CWI).

When it comes to the marquee players in the competition, Smith will be joined by well established stars including Chris Gayle, all-rounder Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Darren Sammy, Lasith Malinga, mystery spinner Sunil Narine, David Miller and Dwayne Bravo for the month-long tournament.

First Published: Jun 01, 2018 13:51 IST