Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

T20 Global League: Cricket South Africa reveals their new Twenty20 competition

Cricket South Africa unveiled the logo and name of their recently-launched Twenty20 league which will be called the T20 Global League.

cricket Updated: Jun 01, 2017 08:50 IST
Rajesh Pansare
Rajesh Pansare
T20 Global League,Cricket South Africa,Twenty20
Cricket South Africa revealed the logo of T20 Global League. (Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) president Chris Nenzani used words like ‘game changer’, ‘special day in the calendar of this country’ during the launch of the T20 Global League at the Wanderers Stadium on Wednesday.

Nenzani and CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat sounded confident as they set the ball-rolling with the name and logo launch of the league on which they are banking on to boost the profile of cricket in South Africa.

Logart, who was at the helm of International Cricket Council as well, knows it will be difficult task but he is determined to attract world’s attention on South Africa during November and December when they league is scheduled to be held.

READ | ICC Champions Trophy: ‘Prizefighter’ India favourites despite recent ODI run

While it took them time to figure out the nitty-gritties, it seems they are moving ahead in full steam. They will announce the eight franchisee owners on June 19 at Lord’s, a day after the Champions Trophy final and the player draft will be held in August.

Each team will have 17 players on their roster with one guaranteed marquee player from South Africa and one international marquee player. In addition, each team will have two under-23 rookie players who have not had the opportunity to play international cricket.

While eight South African marquee players will be assigned to a franchise owner with a geographical location associated with their career. The same number of foreign marquee players will be allocated to a franchise team in the first year with the highest bidder getting the first pick. The remaining players will be announced through a player draft system.

Marquee players from South Africa are Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir.

READ | England vs Bangladesh: Past meetings between the two teams in ICC tournaments

International marguee player are Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Eoin Morgan (England), Kevin Pietersen (England), Kieron Pollard (West Indies) and Jason Roy (England).

Former Proteas pacer Makhaya Ntini hailed the concept and said, “It will be good for the betterment of the South African cricket.”

First Published: Jun 01, 2017 08:49 IST