Tamil Nadu beat Baroda by 6 wickets to ease into Vijay Hazare final
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Tamil Nadu beat Baroda by 6 wickets to ease into Vijay Hazare final

Tamil Nadu cricket team, who have won the Vijay Hazare Trophy four times, cruised into the final once again after Beating Baroda cricket team on Thursday

cricket Updated: Mar 16, 2017 22:56 IST
New Delhi
Vijay Hazare Trophy,Baroda cricket team,Tamil Nadu cricket team
Dinesh Karthik scored 107-ball 77 for Tamil Nadu cricket team, helping his side to a six-wicket win over Baroda cricket team in the Vijaya Hazare Trophy match in New Delhi on Thursday.(PTI)

Tamil Nadu cricket team are well on course for a record fifth Vijay Hazare Trophy after the Southern side scored a convincing six-wicket win over Baroda cricket team in the first semifinal of the domestic ODI tournament at the Feroze Shah Kotla stadium, here today.

Tamil Nadu, who won the trophy four times earlier, last qualified for the title clash way back in 2009-2010 season.

Read more | India vs Australia, Ranchi Test, Day 1 highlights and score

Invited to ball, Tamil Nadu first shot out Baroda for a meagre 219 in 49.3 overs and then chased down the runs with consummate ease in 47.3 overs.

India discard wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik top-scored for Tamil Nadu with a patient 107-ball 77 while skipper remained unbeaten on 53 off 67 balls.

Read more |  Wriddhiman Saha’s ‘brain-fade’ against Steve Smith lightens up tense contest

Earlier, left-arm orthodox bowler Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore (4/59) registered his best List A figures as Baroda suffered a middle-order collapse after Kedar Devdhar (46) and Aditya Waghmode (45) stitched 92 runs for the opening stand.

Krunal Padya (30), Pinal Shah (360 and skipper Irfan Pathan (27) also got starts for Baroda before giving away their wickets.

Besides Sai Kishore, Washington Sundar (2/20), A Aswin Crist (2/22) and Rahil Shah (2/36) shared the spoils for Tamil Nadu.

Read more | Fan goes crazy and MS Dhoni did this to remain a darling of his followers

Chasing the modest target, Tamil Nadu lost openers Kaushik Gandhi (19) and V Ganga Sridhar Raju (15) in quick succession before Karthik and Baba Aparajith (28) steadied the ship with a 60-run third wicket partnership that laid the foundation for the win.

Atit Sheth (3/36) and Soaeb Tai (1/45) were the wicket takers for Baroda.

Brief Scores:

Baroda: 219 all out in 49.3 overs (Kedar Devdhar 46, Aditya Waghmode 45; Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore 4/59).

Tamil Nadu: 220 for four in 47.3 overs (Dinesh Karthik 77, Vijay Shankar 53 not out; Atit Sheth 3/36).

First Published: Mar 16, 2017 22:56 IST