New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 05, 2020-Saturday



Select Country
Select city
Home / Cricket / Twenty20 to be named after late Mushtaq Ali

Twenty20 to be named after late Mushtaq Ali

The Indian cricket board announced the decision after a conclave of Ranji Trophy captains and coaches in Mumbai.

cricket Updated: Apr 22, 2007, 04:07 IST

The Indian cricket board on Friday decided to aptly name the national Twenty20 tournament after late Test player Mushtaq Ali, well known for his hitting prowess. Twenty20 requires big hitting too.

This was announced after a conclave of Ranji Trophy captains and coaches in Mumbai. All 27 Ranji Trophy teams were represented at the meeting, Niranjan Shah, secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced.

BCCI president Sharad Pawar, its joint secretary MP Pandove, chief administrative office RS Shetty and Sunil Gavaskar, chairman of its technical committee, were also present at the meeting that was held after a year's gap.

The captains and coaches requested the board officials to help in improving the standard of umpiring and the quality of pitches.

The members present were informed about the following decisions of the BCCI working committee:

(a) To have 10 teams instead of 15 in Elite Group of the Ranji Trophy national championship from 2008-09. The Plate Group will have 17 teams.

(b) Neutral venues for the semi-finals and finals of Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Irani Trophy and Deodhar Trophy.

The following suggestions made by the captains and coaches would be referred to the technical committee:

1 Revision of Ranji Trophy points system

2 Scheduling of Duleep Trophy matches after Ranji Trophy tournament instead of October

3 Scheduling of Twenty20 matches

Get Latest Cricket Updates, Live scores and Top news on HT Cricket.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading