Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 14, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Virat Kohli, India’s cricket hero, gets Padma Shri, says ‘God has been kind’

Virat Kohli, who has captained the Indian cricket team with great success in recent times, was conferred the Padma Shri award by President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday

cricket Updated: Mar 31, 2017 11:16 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
virat kohli,padma shri,indian cricket team
President Pranab Mukherjee confers the Padma Shri on Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Thursday. (PTI)

‘God has been kind,” tweeted Virat Kohli after receiving the Padma Shri from President Pranab Mukherjee at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday. Kohli has led the Indian cricket team to successive Test series win at home in recent times. (IPL FULL COVERAGE)

Congratulations poured in for Virat Kohli, who missed the fourth and deciding series against Australia in Dharamsala recently. Ajinkya Rahane had led India to a 2-1 series win in Kohli’s absence.

Rio Olympics badminton silver medallist PV Sindhu led the kudos for Virat Kohli. Sindhu will clash with Saina Nehwal in an India Open Superseries quarterfinal in Delhi today.

Virat Kohli has been the primary target of the Australian media in recent weeks. Kohli’s comments on his relationship with Australian cricketers has generated a lot of controversy. The Padma Shri award should bring the focus back on more cricketing and civic matters as the Indian Premier League is just five days away.

Apart from Virat Kohli, Paralympian Deepa Malik and hockey captain P.R. Sreejesh were honoured with the Padma Shri.

Besides Kohli, Sreejesh and Deepa Malik, five other sportspersons were named for the prestigious Padma Shri when the honours list was declared on the Republic Day on January 26.

The list included Rio Olympics bronze medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekhar Naik.

The dignitaries presented on the occasion were vice-president Mohammed Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

First Published: Mar 31, 2017 10:08 IST