Today in New Delhi, India
May 27, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Virat Kohli named ICC Cricketer of the Year, Steve Smith wins top Test award

Virat Kohli, Indian cricket team captain, has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year alongside the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award

cricket Updated: Jan 19, 2018 15:07 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Virat Kohli,Steve Smith,Indian cricket team
Virat Kohli, captain of the Indian cricket team, has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming ICC Cricketer of the Year.(AFP)

Virat Kohli’s imperious form with the bat in 2017 has seen him being named as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year by the International Cricket Council (ICC), with the Indian cricket team captain also winning the ODI Cricketer of the Year accolade.

Australia captain Steve Smith, on the other hand, has been named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

This is the second instance of Kohli receiving the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award. Earlier, he had walked away with the same honour in 2012.

Kohli scored six centuries in the ODIs during the award period with a staggering average of 76.84. He has so far scored 9030 runs from 202 ODIs with the help of 32 hundreds. His career average of 55.74 is the highest ever by a batsman from a Full Member nation.

Voting period: September 21, 2016 to December 31, 2017
Kohli’s runs
2,023 runs in 18 Tests, 8x100s 3x50s
1,818 runs in 31 ODIs, 7x100s, 9x50s
299 runs in 10 T20Is
Kohli is the fourth Indian after Rahul Dravid (2004), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and R Ashwin (2016) to win this award.
Kohli has become only the second India batsman after Sunil Gavaskar to reach the 900-ranking point mark.
Kohli is the 31st batsman in history to reach 900 points.

This is also the first time that the ODI Cricketer of the Year award has gone to a non-South African since 2013. Quinton de Kock had won it in 2016, while prior to that, the accolade had come AB de Villiers’ way, twice, in 2014 and 2015.

To top it off, Virat Kohli has also been named as the captain of both the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year and ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year.

Yuzvendra Chahal is another Indian to be among the recipients of ICC’s annual awards, with the spinner winning the ICC T20I Performance of the Year honour for picking 6/25 against England in Bengaluru last year.

First Published: Jan 18, 2018 11:46 IST