Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 22, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

West Indies to host 2018 ICC Women’s World T20

The ICC Women’s World T20 2018 will be played at three venues in West Indies, starting November 9.

cricket Updated: Jan 23, 2018 10:25 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Dubai
2018 ICC Women’s World T20,ICC Women’s World T20,International Cricket Council
West Indies won the last edition of the ICC Women’s World T20 (in 2016). (Press Trust of India )

The 2018 edition of the Women’s World T20 will be hosted by Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana and St Lucia from November 9-24, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced.

Hosts Windies will defend the title they won with an eight-wicket victory over Australia in Kolkata in 2016.

(Read | ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup: Lloyd Pope creates history as Australia enter last four)

Stafanie Taylor, who was named as captain of the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2017, won the player of the series award in India and is expected to once again lead the Windies in front of a passionate home crowd.

The three venues were selected by Cricket West Indies through a bidding process and have been ratified by the ICC.

(Read | Sachin Tendulkar gives pep talk to Indian women’s cricket team ahead of South Africa series)

The preliminary round matches will be held at the Guyana National Stadium and Darren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia, while Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda will stage the two semi-finals and the final.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “Windies women are the reigning champions and I’ve no doubt they’ll be looking to defend their title on home soil.

(Read | Ravi Shastri ‘exposes’ why India failed in Tests vs South Africa)

“We are keen to build on the momentum from this summer’s Women’s World Cup and I’m sure the players can rely on a warm welcome from the legendary cricket fans in the West Indies and we’re all in for a great experience in the Caribbean,” he said.

Windies captain Stafanie Taylor added: “As captain of the defending champions, we are keen on defending our title and since we know we will be at home, we want to use this as an opportunity to welcome the world to the region for top-class competitive Women’s cricket.”

(Read | Indian Premier League 2018 to begin April 7 in Mumbai; here are new match timings)

The hosts will be joined by Australia, world champions England, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka who have all achieved qualification.

The remaining two spots will be taken by Bangladesh, Holland, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda or United Arab Emirates, all of whom will compete in the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from 3-14 July.

The November event in the Caribbean will be the first stand-alone ICC Women’s World Twenty20 after the past five events were played alongside the men’s event.

The Caribbean hosted the World Cup in 2007 and then staged the World T20 in 2010 when the league matches of the women’s tournament were played in St Kitts, while St Lucia hosted the two semi-finals.

The final in Barbados was played after the men’s final and was won by Australia when they beat New Zealand by three runs.

First Published: Jan 23, 2018 10:07 IST