Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP-backed candidates win Haridwar zila panchayat bypolls

Voting for the bypolls on two seats was held on June 19

dehradun Updated: Jun 21, 2018 22:38 IST
Hindustan Times, Haridwar
Uttarakhand news
BJP supporters at Manakpur Adampur zila panchayat election in Haridwar.(RAMESHWAR GAUR/HT PHOTO)

Bharatiya Janata Party-backed candidates were elected to two zila panchayat seats in Haridwar districts.

Voting for the bypolls on two seats was held on June 19.

In the results announced on Thursday, Shashi won Jamalpur Kalan (ward-11) zila panchayat seat, while Subash Verma emerged victorious on Manakpur Adampur (ward-18) seat.

In Jamalpur Kalan, Shashi defeated her nearest rival and Bahujan Samaj Party-backed Uma Rani by a margin of 524 votes. Shashi polled 2897 votes and Uma Rani got 2373 votes. Subash Verma (4797) won Manakpur Adampur seat by a close margin of 85 votes against Congress-backed Kusum Chaudhary (4712). Kusum, wife of ex-zila panchayat president Chaudhary Rajendra Singh, had also lost the previous panchayat election for the seat.

There were only two candidates in the electoral fray in Jamalpur Kalan, while 12 candidates contested the Manakpur Adampur election.

BJP district president Jay Pal Singh Chauhan termed the victory as a sign of popularity of BJP and its social schemes among people of the state. He also mentioned the bypoll victory in Tharali assembly election earlier this month. BJP candidate Munni Devi Shah won the election.

Reacting over the loss in zila panchayat bypolls, Congress leader and ex-zila panchayat chairperson Chaudhary Rajendra Singh said it is people’s verdict and the party accepts it. He, however, added that the use of administrative and government power by ruling BP influenced the twin bypolls.

Uma Rani said that irrespective of the electoral result, she would always be associated with the local people’s issues.

BJP rural legislator Swami Yatishwaranand and Jwalapur legislator Suresh Rathore extended their wishes to the winning candidates and termed the victory as reflection of BJP’s dominance and influence in the entire state.

First Published: Jun 21, 2018 22:38 IST