Akhilesh comfortably wins against union minister Baghel - Hindustan Times

Akhilesh comfortably wins against union minister Baghel

Mar 10, 2022 11:58 PM IST

Akhilesh Yadav defeated BJP candidate and union minister SP Singh Baghel in the Karhal assembly constituency, located in Mainpuri district, by 67,504 votes.

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav comfortably won the Karhal assembly constituency, in Mainpuri district, by margin of 67,504 votes defeating BJP candidate and union minister SP Singh Baghel.

Akhilesh Yadav (HT FILE PHOTO)
Akhilesh Yadav (HT FILE PHOTO)

Akhilesh got in 1,48,196 votes (60.12%) while Baghel got 80,692 votes (32.74%) in an interesting contest as union home minister Amit Shah, chief minister Yogi Adityanath and deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya had campaigned for Baghel.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

BSP candidate Kuldip Narayan got only 15,701 votes (6.37%) while 1,909 pressed NOTA as their choice for Karhal seat.

The Karhal seat had acquired VVIP status after Akhilesh chose to contest from this Yadav dominated constituency in Mainpuri, which is represented in the Lok Sabha by his father and SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.

BJP made the contest interesting by asking union minister and Agra MP Baghel to contest against Akhilesh. An alleged attack on Baghel’s cavalcade put the contest in the spotlight.

Mulayam campaigned for SP in just a few constituencies and Karhal was one of them. Despite the challenge to Akhilesh from the union minister, he was expected to win.

Share this article

    Hemendra Chaturvedi is based in Agra serving as a Principal Correspondent, covering districts of Agra and Aligarh division of western Uttar Pradesh. He has been with HT since 1992 and has completed 25 year of association with HT.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, May 25, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On