Bhumi Pednekar said that she no longer gives negative comments on social media a lot of importance.
Bhumi Pednekar said that she no longer gives negative comments on social media a lot of importance.

Bhumi Pednekar on being trolled on social media: ‘If I listen to that one bad opinion then I have to be really stupid’

Bhumi Pednekar said that she would get affected by trolls when she started her career in films. However, with time, she realised that her happiness is in her own hands.
PUBLISHED ON JAN 27, 2021 03:16 PM IST

Protected by the veil of anonymity, online trolls often target celebrities and say the nastiest of things about them. Bhumi Pednekar admitted that when she started out in Bollywood, the negativity would get to her. However, over time, she realised that her happiness lay in her own hands.

Bhumi said that if she paid heed to the one negative comment among so many more compliments, she would be ‘really stupid’. She added that she has learnt to shrug off the trolling.

On Kareena Kapoor Khan’s chat show What Women Want, Bhumi said, “When I had started off, I would get affected by it because there are people that don't have the nicest things to say and you don't really understand the medium very well. You are like, 'Oh my God, why are people getting so personal?' But now, I don't really care. I have realised that my happiness depends on me.”

Also read: Ekta Kapoor wishes son Ravie a happy birthday, says she still gets ‘shocked’ when she calls herself his mother

“If I listen to that one bad opinion then I have to be really stupid because I have ten people telling me really good things. Maybe early on, I tried looking for validation through my Instagram or social media but now I don't do it. I feel like our world is actually very large, especially for actors. When you see a film that does so well at the box office, it doesn't really tally with your social media numbers. Or vice versa. I don’t take it seriously,” she added.

Currently, Bhumi is shooting in Dehradun for Badhaai Do, a standalone sequel to 2018 hit Badhaai Ho. She will play a PT teacher in the film, which is directed by Harshvardhan Kulkarni and also stars Rajkummar Rao as a cop. She has been sharing pictures from the sets on Instagram, introducing their characters, Sumi and Shardul.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON

Related Stories

Bhumi Pednekar was thrown out of film school.
Bhumi Pednekar was thrown out of film school.

Bhumi Pednekar had Rs 13 lakh loan to repay after she failed film school: ‘That was the biggest jhatka’

By HT Entertainment Desk | Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON OCT 29, 2020 08:50 PM IST
Bhumi Pednekar said though she was thrown out of film school, she still had to pay her education loan of Rs 13 lakh. With no source of income, she took up a casting assistant’s job at Yash Raj Films.
Bhumi Pednekar feels Ranveer Singh would make for a great sexologist.
Bhumi Pednekar feels Ranveer Singh would make for a great sexologist.

Bhumi Pednekar suggests ‘sex upchaar doctor’ as alternate career for Ranveer Singh: ‘I think he will have some great hacks’

By HT Entertainment Desk | Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON SEP 30, 2020 11:47 AM IST
Bhumi Pednekar, during a recent chat show, suggested sexologist as an alternate career option for Ranveer Singh. She said the actor ‘will have some great hacks’.
Close
Sonchiriya was Bhumi Pednekar's only film with Sushant Singh Rajput.
Sonchiriya was Bhumi Pednekar's only film with Sushant Singh Rajput.

Bhumi pays emotional tribute to Sushant on Sonchiriya anniversary, shares photos

UPDATED ON MAR 01, 2021 07:58 PM IST
  • Bhumi Pednekar shared a number of behind-the-scenes photos and videos from the making of Sonchiriya as the film completed two years of its release. She included a special dedication for Sushant Singh Rajput.
Close
Filmmaker Nila Madhab Panda has helmed films such as I Am Kalam and Kadwi Hawa.
Filmmaker Nila Madhab Panda has helmed films such as I Am Kalam and Kadwi Hawa.

Nila Madhab Panda: Oscar or not, doesn’t matter, attention of people is important for Kalira Atita

By Rishabh Suri
UPDATED ON MAR 01, 2021 06:51 PM IST
Filmmaker Nila Madhab Panda, whose next Kalira Atita is eligible for the Best Picture category at Academy Awards, talks about why he sticks to subjects which talk about the climate.
Close
Karisma Kapoor shared a workout selfie.
Karisma Kapoor shared a workout selfie.

Karisma flaunts abs in sports bra and shorts, Manish is reminded of DTPH

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 05:55 PM IST
  • As Karisma Kapoor showed off her figure in a new Instagram post, Manish Malhotra and Sophie Choudry were reminded of her Dil To Pagal Hai days.
Close
Actor Vineet Kumar Singh will be seen next in the film Adhaar
Actor Vineet Kumar Singh will be seen next in the film Adhaar

Vineet Kumar Singh: My career has been built from one-two scenes; I have played the role of a dead body too

By Rishabh Suri
PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 05:38 PM IST
Vineet Kumar Singh, since he achieved fame with Mukkabaaz (2017), has taken up projects very carefully
Close
Preity Zinta and Gene Goodenough got married on February 29, 2016.
Preity Zinta and Gene Goodenough got married on February 29, 2016.

Preity Zinta misses husband Gene Goodenough on anniversary, shares cute wish

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 05:36 PM IST
On her fifth wedding anniversary with Gene Goodenough, Preity Zinta shared a message for him on Instagram. See it here.
Close
Rasika credits Naseeruddin Shah for imparting a great deal of knowledge to her during her foundational years as a student.
Rasika credits Naseeruddin Shah for imparting a great deal of knowledge to her during her foundational years as a student.

Rasika Dugal: Still the nervous student when working with Naseer saab

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 05:30 PM IST
The actor talks about working with her teacher Naseeruddin Shah in a short film and revisits her days as a student in FTII 14 years ago.
Close
Kangana Ranaut visits her Mumbai office.
Kangana Ranaut visits her Mumbai office.

Kangana visits partially demolished Mumbai office, says her 'heart broke again'

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 04:55 PM IST
  • Kangana Ranaut on Monday shared photos of her partially demolished Mumbai office, and said that her 'heart broke again' after she visited the property.
Close
Sushant Singh Rajput and Ankita Lokhande were in a six-year relationship that ended in 2016.
Sushant Singh Rajput and Ankita Lokhande were in a six-year relationship that ended in 2016.

Ankita to Sushant's fans: 'You don't know my story, so stop blaming me'

UPDATED ON MAR 01, 2021 04:38 PM IST
  • Ankita Lokhande, in an Instagram live, urged Sushant Singh Rajput's fans to stop blaming her and said that no one knows her side of the story. She also revealed that she went through depression.
Close
Sanjay Dutt poses with his family on a yacht.
Sanjay Dutt poses with his family on a yacht.

Sanjay Dutt shows off bleached hair in family photo with Maanayata and twins

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 03:39 PM IST
  • Sanjay Dutt introduced fans to his new look in a family portrait shared by his wife Maanayata Dutt. He could be seen sporting bleached hair in the photo.
Close
Priyanka Chopra talked about the negativity she gets from many in the South Asian community.
Priyanka Chopra talked about the negativity she gets from many in the South Asian community.

Priyanka Chopra says she gets a lot of negativity from her ‘own community’

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 02:59 PM IST
  • Priyanka Chopra said that while she gets a lot of love and protectiveness from her South Asian fans, there are a lot of people from the community who are negative about her.
Close
Bailable warrant issued against Kangana Ranaut on Javed Akhtar's complaint
Bailable warrant issued against Kangana Ranaut on Javed Akhtar's complaint

Bailable warrant issued against Kangana Ranaut on Javed Akhtar's complaint

PTI
PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 02:46 PM IST
A Mumbai court on Monday issued a bailable warrant against actor Kangana Ranaut after she failed to appear before it in connection with a defamation complaint filed against her by lyricist Javed Akhtar.
Close
Kangana Ranaut has shared a childhood photo with a friend.
Kangana Ranaut has shared a childhood photo with a friend.

Kangana says family didn't mind her birth as she was 'very beautiful'

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 02:18 PM IST
Kangana Ranaut has spoken about the 'hardships' she had to face in life and how they made her who she is. She even spoke about how her family would treat her, the second daughter.
Close
Anil Kapoor and Rahul Bose in Dil Dhadakne Do.
Anil Kapoor and Rahul Bose in Dil Dhadakne Do.

Rahul Bose reacts to Anil's story about 'almost killing' him on Dil Dhadakne Do

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 02:17 PM IST
  • Actor Rahul Bose has reacted to Anil Kapoor's story about almost killing him while shooting a scene for Dil Dhadakne Do.
Close
Take a peek inside Parineeti Chopra's Mumbai house.
Take a peek inside Parineeti Chopra's Mumbai house.

Step inside Parineeti Chopra's 'perfect heaven' of a home with a sea view

UPDATED ON MAR 01, 2021 04:56 PM IST
Parineeti Chopra often shares photos of her Mumbai home. On Monday, she posted new pictures from her house, showing off the balloons and flowers that she'd received after the release of her film, The Girl on the Train.
Close
83 is slated for a June 4 release.
83 is slated for a June 4 release.

Ranveer's 83 co-star Tahir Raj Bhasin teases 'thrilling' Gavaskar-Dev dynamic

PUBLISHED ON MAR 01, 2021 01:42 PM IST
  • 83 will explore the dynamic between Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev, actor Tahir Raj Bhasin has teased. Ranveer Singh plays Kapil in the upcoming sports drama, directed by Kabir Khan.
Close
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP