Countries that repeated the history

Updated on May 19, 2007 01:02 PM IST
As the Miss Universe pageant enters its 56th year, check out the top 12 countries that won the Miss Universe title more than once.
HT Image
HT Image | By, Mexico City

Since 1952, Miss Universe has come a long way. It has entered it 56th year. The year 2007 would see 77 contestants vying for the title. Though talent is not specific to just one country and contestants from all over the world have made it big at the contest, the representatives of selected countries brought back the crown much often.

Top 12 countries that won the Miss Universe title more than once are:

1) United States: Undisputably, the country has produced the maximum number of Miss Universes till date. While between 1954 to 1967, USA emerged winner for as many 4 times, the period between 1968 to 2006 could see three Miss Universe winners. The toltal number of Miss Universe USA titleholders are seven. The years in which Miss Universe reigned are: 1954, 1956, 1960, 1967, 1980, 1995, 1997.

2) Puerto Rico: Not far behind from USA, Puerto Rico has also been the hot favourite in Miss Universe pageants. While the country won the crown for the first time in the year 1970, the second win came only after the hiatus of 15 years, i.e. 1985. The other victories came in the years 1993, 2001 and 2006. In total, Puerto Rico comfortably has five crowns in her kitty.

3) Venezuela: The first time Venezuela became the part of the history of Miss Universe was 1979. After that there was no looking back for the country. The country go on to win titles in the years 1981, 1986 and 1996. The titles won by the country are four in number.

4) Sweden: 1955, 1966, 1984, were the winning years for the country. Total titles won were three.

5) Finland: 1952, 1975 were the winning years of the country.

6) Brazil: 1963, 1968

7) Thailand: 1965, 1988

8) Philippines: 1969, 1973

9) Australia: 1972, 2004

10) Trinidad and Tobago: 1977, 1998

11) Canada: 1982, 2005

12) India: 1994, 2000

Past titleholders

1952: Armi Kuusela-Finland
1953: Christiane Martel-France
1954: Miram Stevenson-USA
1955: Hillevi Rombin-Sweden
1956: Carol Morris- USA
1957: Gladys Zender-Peru
1958: Luz Marina Zulugua- Colombia
1959: Akiko Kojima- Japan
1960: Linda Bement- USA
1961: Marlene Schmidt- Germany
1962: Norma Nolan-Argentina
1963: Ieda Maria Vargas- Brazil
1964: Kiriaki Corin Tsopei-Greece
1965: Apasra Hongsakula-Thailand
1966: Margareta Arvidsson- Sweden
1967: Sylvia Louise Hitchcock-USA
1968: Martha Vasconcellos- Brazil
1969: Gloria Diaz- Philippines
1970: Marisol Malaret- Puerto Rico
1971: Georgina Rizk- Lebanon
1972: Kerry Anne Wells- Australia
1973: Margarita Moran- Philippines
1974: Amparo Munoz- Spain
1975: Anne Marie Pohtamo- Finland
1976: Rina Messinger- Israel
1977: Janelle Commissiong- Trinidad and Tobago
1978: Margaret Gardiner- South Africa
1979: Maritza Sayalero- Venezuela
1980: Shawn Nichols Weatherly-USA
1981: Mona Irene Lailan Saez Conde-Venezuela
1982: Karen Diane Baldwin- Canada
1983: Lorraine Downes- New Zealand
1984: Yvonne Ryding- Sweden
1985: Deborah Carthy-Deu- Puerto Rico
1986: Barbara Palacios Teyde- Venezuela
1987: Cecillia Carolinea Bolocco Fonck- Chile
1988: Porntip Nakhirunkanok- Thailand
1989: Angela Visser- Holland
1990: Mona Grudt- Norway
1991: Lupita Jones- Mexico
1992: Michelle McLean- Namibia
1993: Dayanara Torres- Puerto Rico
1994: Sushmita Sen- India
1995: Chelsi Smith- USA
1996: Joseph Alicia Machado Fajardo- Venezuela
1997: Brook Antoinetto Mahealani Lee- USA
1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam- Trinidad and Tobago
1999: Mpule Kwelagobe- Botswana
2000: Lara Dutta- India
2001: Denise M Quinones- Puerto Rico
2002: Justine Pasek: Panama
2003: Amelia Vega- Dominican Republic
2004: Jennifer Hawkins- Australia
2005: Natalie Glebova- Canada
2006: Zuleyka Rivera- Puerto Rico

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, August 12, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now