Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sunil Chhetri’s record-breaking goal denies Aizawl FC win, East Bengal FC on top

Sunil Chhetri surpassed Bhaichung Bhutia as all-time leading scorer in National Football league and I-League with 90 goals as Bengaluru FC were held to a 1-1 draw by Aizawl FC. East Bengal drew 1-1 with Shillong Lajong

football Updated: Feb 15, 2017 22:35 IST
I-League‬,‪Bengaluru FC‬,‪Aizawl F.C.‬‬
Sunil Chhetri vies for the ball with an Aizawl FC player in an I-League match on Wednesday.(AIFF)

Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri’s record-breaking strike denied Aizawl FC full points as the I-League match ended in a 1-1 draw in Aizawl on Wednesday.

Brandon Vanlalremdika (40th minute) gave Aizawal the lead, but the joy was not long-lived as Chhetri (45’) cancelled the home team’s lead at the stroke of half time.

The goal added another feather in the talismanic striker’s hat as he leapfrogged Bhaichung Bhutia to score the most number of goals combining NFL & I-League. Bhutia had scored 89 goals.

Aizawl FC are third in the points table with 17 points from nine matches while Bengaluru are fifth with 12 points from eight matches.

East Bengal held

Table-toppers East Bengal were held 1-1 by Shillong Lajong in a home match for the former in Siliguri.

Despite two successive draws, East Bengal continue to lead the table with 21 points from nine games, while Shillong Lajong are fourth with 13 points from nine games.

East Bengal were given a mighty scare when Samuel Lalmuanpuia’s stroke helped Lajong take lead in the 20th minute. Desperate for the equaliser, East Bengal were relieved when their Trinidadian recruit Willis Plaza scored at the stroke of half-time.

Both teams got chances after that but could not score any goal.

Mohun Bagan, Mumbai FC play a goalless draw

Mohun Bagan were held to a goalless draw by Mumbai FC. The Kolkata giants are the second spot with 18 points from eight games, while Mumbai are eighth with seven points from nine matches.

In another match, Minerva Punjab FC and DSK Shivajians played a goalless draw. Minerva are ninth in the table with seven points from nine matches, while Shivajians are sixth with 10 points from nine.

Results: Bengaluru FC 1-1 Aizawl FC, East Bengal 1-1 Shillong Lajong, Mohun Bagan 0-0 Mumbai FC, Minerva Punjab FC 0-0 DSK Shivajians

First Published: Feb 15, 2017 17:04 IST