A lot like Sasikala: A look at politicians sent behind bars over the years

HT takes a look at a list of other politicians who have been convicted under different charges:

india Updated: Feb 15, 2017 07:39 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
VK Sasikala,DA Case,Disproportionate assets case
AIADMK general secretary VK Sasikala has been sentenced to four years in prison by the Supreme Court.(PTI Photo)

Amid the power tussle in Tamil Nadu for the chief minister’s chair, Supreme Courtconvicted VK Sasikala in a disproportionate assets and sentenced her to prison for four years on Tuesday. The apex court also barred her from holding public office or contesting elections for 10 years.

In fact, her mentor and late chief minister Jayalalithaa, was also convicted in the DA case by the trial court but acquitted by Karnataka High Court in August 2016.

Read| Sasikala DA case: A timeline

However, this is not the first instance where politicians have been convicted of criminal offences. HT takes a look at a list of other politicians who have been convicted under different charges:

Guilty as charged: Politicians convicted of criminal offences
Sasikala Natarajan
(AIADMK): Former Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa’s aide was convicted on February 14 in the disproportionate assets case. The Karnataka High Court had acquitted Sasikala in August 2016.
Jagannath Mishra
(Congress): Former chief minister of Bihar, convicted in 2013 in multi million fodder scam
Lalu Prasad
(RJD): FA 68-year-old former Bihar CM and OBC stalwart was convicted in the fodder scam.
Shibu Soren
(JMM): Veteran politician from Jharkhand. First union minister to be convicted on murder charges. He was acquitted in 2007.
(Congress): A former union minister from Himachal Pradesh, he was convicted in a DA case.
Mohammad Shahabudddin
(RJD): The notorious former MP from Siwan has several criminal cases pending, currently serving life imprisonment for abduction and other charges.
Navjot Singh Sidhu
(Congress): Cricketer-turned-politician from Amritsar, he was convicted in a road rage case in 2006. He appealed in the SC, which suspended the verdict in 2007.
Rasheed Masood
(Congress): A politician from Saharanpur, he was held guilty on corruption charges in 2013 and became the first parliamentarian to lose his job following the SC verdict disqualifying lawmakers convicted for more than two years.

First Published: Feb 15, 2017 07:23 IST