Anarchy over, clarity rules India after 4 years: PM Modi
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Anarchy over, clarity rules India after 4 years: PM Modi

Narendra Modi addressed a public meeting at Baji Jatra ground on the banks of river Mahanadi in Cuttack, marking four years of the BJP-led government at the Centre.

india Updated: May 26, 2018 17:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Narendra modi,Modi government,Four years of Modi government
PM Modi addressing a a public rally in Odisha’s Cuttack to mark four years of his government.(ANI Photo)

Commitment and clarity have replaced confusion and anarchy in governance in the last four years, said Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday in a speech to mark the anniversary of his government ahead of elections in 2019.

“In these four years, 125 crore Indian have come to believe that India can change. Today the nation is going from kala dhan (black money) to jan dhan (people’s wealth). It has moved from anarchy to good governance,” said Modi at a public rally in Cuttack city of Odisha.

“The goverment doesn’t fear taking big decisions and it doesn’t miss taking big decisions. When a government is not confused but is committed, it can take hard decisions,” said Modi.

Modi said it was his goverment’s clarity and commitment that led to economic reforms like the Goods and Services Tax and bank accounts for the poor. The government’s determination had led to a robust foreign policy and the Indian Army conducting surgical strikes against Pakistan.

“This land is special. It is the place of a million aspirations,” he said about Odisha, a state the BJP is working to wrest from the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

“It’s my honour to mark the fourth anniversary of my government in Cuttack, the birthplace of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose and the land of great people,” he said.

Odisha was among the few states that remained largely untouched when the Modi-led BJP swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s BJD party won 20 Lok Sabha seats and the BJP picked up the remaining seats in the state.

First Published: May 26, 2018 17:56 IST