Assembly by-polls Results highlights| ‘Big victory’: Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan on Mani C Kappen win

Results of byelections to four assembly constituencies - one each in Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Tripura - will be declared on Friday following counting of votes that started at 8 am. The assembly seats where bypolls were held are Pala (Kerala), Hamirpur (UP), Dantewada (Chhattisgarh) and Badharghat (Tripura). Voting for these seats was held on September 23. LDF’s Mani C Kappen has won Kerala’s Pala seat.In Pala, Dantewada and Badharghat assembly seats, elections were necessitated following the deaths of sitting MLAs KM Mani, Bhima Mandvi and Dilip Sarkar respectively. The disqualification of sitting BJP MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel following his conviction in a murder case necessitated bypoll in Hamirpur. Here are the highlights:

Mani C Kappen, the LDF candidate, has won the Pala assembly bypoll.(Photo Credit: Mani C Kappen’s Facebook Page)
Mani C Kappen, the LDF candidate, has won the Pala assembly bypoll.(Photo Credit: Mani C Kappen’s Facebook Page)
Updated on Sep 27, 2019 10:53 PM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
4:32 pm IST

BJP wins Tripura’s Badharghat by-poll

Mimi Majumder of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won by-poll in Tripura. Her closest competitor CPI-M’s Bulti Biswas was defeated by a margin of 5,276 votes, news agency IANS quoted election officials as saying.

Majumder secured 20,487 votes while her CPI-M-led Left Front rival Biswas got 15,211 votes, the Election Commission officials said.

4:19 pm IST

Congress’s Dewati Karma wins Dantewada seat

Congress candidate Dewati Karma has won the Dantewada seat in Chhattisgarh, where bypolls were held following sitting MLA Bhima Mandvi’s death.

2:00 pm IST

BJP leads in UP’s Hamirpur

BJP candidate is in lead in Hamirpur with 46810 votes after 23 rounds of counting. Following are the number of votes bagged by other party candidates.

BJP-46810, SP- 37823, BSP- 19395, Congress -10701

1:30 pm IST

‘Big victory’: Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan on Mani C Kappen win

Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan hails verdict in Pala. “It is big victory for us. The state government will continue to introduce people friendly measures” he said in Thiruvananthapuram

1:07 pm IST

BJP maintains lead in UP’s Hamirpur assembly bypoll

BJP candidate continues to be in the lead in UP’s Hamirpur assembly seat after 19 rounds of counting. With 38, 996 votes uvraj Singh was leading by over 8,400 votes over his nearest rival of Samajwadi Party. Here is the latest vote count after round 19:

BJP- 38, 996; SP- 30, 571; BSP- 15, 646; Congress- 9, 820

1:02 pm IST

Kappen wins with a margin of 2,943 votes

Mani C Kappen, the NCP candidate, who was backed by the LDF, got 54,137 votes, followed by Tom Jose oF Kerala Congress (Mani) with 51,194 and NDA’s N Hari with 18,044 votes. Kappen won the Pala assembly bypoll with a margin of 2, 943 votes.

12:43 pm IST

LDF’s Mani C Kappen wins Pala bypoll

Mani C Kappen, the LDF candidate, has won Kerala’s Pala assembly seat. He defeated his nearest rival Tom Jose of UDF by over 2,500 votes in the byelection.

12:22 pm IST

LDF-backed Mani C Kappen maintaining lead in Pala seat

Voting trends on Friday showed that in the Pala bypolls, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Mani C Kappen, who is being backed by the Left Democratic Front (LDF), was maintaining a consistent lead of over 4,000 votes over United Democratic Front’s (UDF) Jose Tom Pullikunnel.

12:05 pm IST

Devati Karma maintains lead in Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada

In Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada assembly bypoll, the candidate of ruling Congress party ahead after seventh round of counting. Devati Karma was leading by 6,101 votes.

11:30 am IST

Dantewada bypoll: Cong candidate ahead after 5th round counting

In Dantewada bypoll, Congress candidate Devati Karma continues to maintain his lead over his nearest rival after the fifth round of counting. He is leading by 6,108 votes.

11:15 am IST

BJP candidate ahead in UP’s Hamirpur

The BJP candidate Yuvraj Singh was leading in Hamirpur bypolls by 900 votes over his nearest rival from Samajwadi Party after round 2 of counting. BJP-3, 424 votes; SP-2,521; BSP-1, 996 and Congress- 1, 708 votes.

11 am IST

Counting underway in Tripura’s Badharghat assembly bypolls

Here are the latest results from Badharghat bypolls after the fourth round of counting:

BJP - 13, 868, CPM - 9,799 and Congress - 5, 819 votes.

Counting in progress in Badharghat assembly bypolls. ( ANI / Twitter )
10:55 am IST

In Badharghat, BJP continues to lead after 3rd round

In Tripura’s Badharghat by polls, the BJP candidate continues to be ahead with 3,748 votes after the third round of counting.

10:50 am IST

Cong candidate maintains lead after 4th round in Dantewada

In Dantewada seat, after fourth round of counting, Congress candidate was leading by 5,000 votes

10: 48 am IST

In Pala, five rounds of counting over; 6 rounds remain

Five rounds of counting is over in Pala and six more rounds are remaining. LDF’s Mani C Kappan was leading with 17,934 votes, followed by UDF’s Tom Jose with 15,096 votes and NDA’s N Hari a distant third with 5, 264 votes.

10:45 am IST

Infighting in Kerala Cong (Mani) may spoil UDF’s chances in Pala

In Pala, it appears that infighting in Kerala Congress (Mani) is set to spoil UDF’s chances. Two groups led by Jose K Mani and P J Joseph had openly clashed during campaigning.

10:31 am IST

Devati Karma of Cong leading after 3rd round of counting in Dantewada

After the third round of counting, Congress’ Devati Karma is leading with 4,278 votes.

10:27 am IST

BJP’s Mimi Majumdar Das leading in Tripura’s Badharghat

BJP candidate Mimi Majumdar Das is leading by 3,246 votes in Badharghat assembly by polls in Tripura after second round of counting. The other candidates in the fray are Congress’ Ratan Chandra Das and CPI(M)’s Bulti Biswas, a councillor of Agartala Municipal Corporation.

10:14 am IST

LDF’s Mani C Kappan maintaining lead in Pala

The LDF candidate has been maintaining lead from the beginning itself. Mani C Kappan lead is over 3,000 votes now.

10:05 am IST

Ruling Cong and BJP locked in direct fight in Dantewada

The bypoll in Dantewada constituency, reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidate, was necessitated following the death of BJP legislator Bhima Mandavi, who was killed in a Maoist attack on April 9 just three days before the parliamentary elections. The ruling Congress and main opposition BJP are locked in a direct fight in this seat affected by Maoist violence.

9:54 am IST

BJP’s Yuvraj Singh leading after first round in UP’s Hamirpur

In UP’s Hamirpur assembly seat, BJP’s Yuvraj Singh is leading over the Congress candidate Har Deepak Nishad by 300 votes. Samajwadi Party candidate Dr Manoj Kumar Prajapati is in the third place.

51% voters had exercised their franchise, braving incessant rainfall and flood in various areas.

9:50 am IST

13 candidates in fray in Pala

The polling percentage in Pala was 72 % though voting was extended to one hour due to heavy rains in the area. There are 13 candidates in the fray.

9:34am IST

LDF candidate leading in Pala bypolls

In Pala byelction in Kerala, the LDF candidate Mani C Kappan (NCP) is leading over leading over Tom Jose of the Kerala Congress (Mani).

9:25 am IST

In Dantewada seat, Congress candidate leading

In Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada constituency, the Congress candidate was leading by 1, 800 votes

9:20 am IST

Three-way contest expected in Pala seat

By-election to Pala constituency was necessitated following the death of Kerala Congress (Mani) leader K M Mani who represented the constituency from 1965 and retained it till his death in April 2019. The seat saw a fierce three cornered contest between Tom Jose (Kerala Congress), Mani C Kappen (NCP) and NDA’s N Hari.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, November 29, 2021