Bypoll results: RJD wins two seats in Bihar| Highlights | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Bypoll results: RJD wins two seats in Bihar| Highlights

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Oct 24, 2019 07:06 PM IST

By-elections for 51 assembly seats, two Lok Sabha constituencies, and one Union Territory were held on October 21.

Votes are being counted for 51 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 17 states and one Union territory where by-elections were held on October 21.

By-elections were held on Monday.(Ravindra Joshi/HT PHOTO)
By-elections were held on Monday.(Ravindra Joshi/HT PHOTO)

*An average turnout of 57% was recorded in the by-elections held on Monday.

HT launches Crick-it, a one stop destination to catch Cricket, anytime, anywhere. Explore now!

*Counting will be held in Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Bihar, Assam, Himachal Pradesh and Tamil Nadu among the states ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies.

*By-polls were also held in four seats of Punjab, five in Kerala, three in Sikkim, two in Rajasthan and one seat each in Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Meghalaya, Telangana and Puducherry.

*Counting of votes is underway today in Maharashtra’s Satara, and Bihar’s Samastipur also. According to ANI, initial trends of the Election Commission (EC) suggested that the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading from the Satara Lok Sabha constituency with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailing.

*In Rajasthan, the bypolls are being seen as an opportunity for the ruling Congress to strengthen their vote share.

Madhya Pradesh

Result declared for by-election in Jhabua of Madhya Pradesh. The lone seat has been won by Congress party, reports news agency ANI.


* Result declared for by-election in the five seats of Bihar. RJD wins two seats. AIMIM and JD(U) win 1 each, reports news agency ANI.

Uttar Pradesh

*In Uttar Pradesh, the results of the by-elections will be a referendum on Yogi Adityanath’s government.

*BJP is leading in six constituencies out of 11 while Samajwadi party is ahead on two seats.

*Congress and BSP are ahead on one seat each and Apna Dal (Sonelal) is leading on one seat, as per trends of Election Commission till 11:19 am, reports news agency ANI.

*According to the latest update, BJP is leading in 5 constituencies, while Samajwadi party leads in two.


*Counting of votes for the by-elections to six assembly constituencies in Gujarat has begun and over 600 government employees are counting the votes, said Gujarat’s chief electoral officer S Murali Krishna.

*The Congress and BJP leading in three seats each out of six Assembly bypolls in Gujarat.

*BJP’s Alpesh Thakor is trailing in Gujarat’s Radhanpur as INC’s Desai Raghubhai Merajbhai takes lead.

*In Bayad and Amraiwadi constituencies also, BJP is trailing as INC leads.


*Sikkim chief minister P S Tamang, better known as P S Golay, who is also the president of ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) is leading over his nearest rival Moses Rai of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) by a margin of 8,727 votes.

*Bharatiya Janata Party has won the Martam-Rumtek (BL) assembly seat.

*P S Tamang has won the Poklok-kamrang seat.

Himachal Pradesh

*Congress candidate in Dharmshala Vijay Inder Karan on Thursday lost his security deposit in the bypoll as he failed to get even the required one-sixth of the total votes polled, reported news agency PTI.

*BJP candidate Vishal Nehriya won Dharamsala by a margin of 6,673 votes. He defeated his nearest rival Rakesh Kumar, an independent candidate. Congress candidate Vijay Inder Karan was in third place.

*In Pachhad, Reena Kashyap of the BJP is leading by 1,543 votes over her nearest rival Gangu Ram Musafir of the Congress after the first round of counting.


*As counting in Satara bypolls crossed halfway mark, NCP turncoat Udayanraje Bhonsle who is contesting on BJP ticket is trailing behind NCP candidate Shrinivas Patil. The bypoll was necessitated due to resignation of Bhonsle.

Tamil Nadu

*Celebrations are underway at AIADMK headquarters in Chennai as AIADMK-led alliance is leading in the two assembly seats- Vikravandi and Nanguneri constituencies.


*Ruling Congress party candidates are leading in both the assembly constituencies in Rajasthan where bypolls were held on Monday, according to news agency PTI.

*According to latest updates, INC’s Rita Choudhary is leading in Mandawa and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party’s Narayan Beniwal is leading in Khinwsar.

*Rita Choudhary of Congress has won Mandawa and Narayan Beniwal of RLP-BJP has won Khinwsar.


*BJD candidate Rita Sahu has established a lead of 87373 votes over her nearest rival Sanat Gartia of the BJP in the by-poll to Odisha’s Bijepur Assembly constituency.

Madhya Pradesh

*Election Commission officials said that Congress’ Kantilal Bhuria held an edge over the BJP’s Bhanu Bhuria after the third round of counting.


*In Manjeshwar, Indian Union Muslim League’s M C Kamaruddin is leading. In Eranakulam and Aroor too, INC is leading. In Konni, Communist Party of India (Marxist)’s candidate Adv. K U Jenish Kumar has won.

*In Vattiyoorkavu also, Communist Party of India (Marxist)’s candidate Adv. V.K.Prasanth is leading.


In a first, All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen is set to win in Kishanganj.

Discover the complete story of India's general elections on our exclusive Elections Product! Access all the content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Lok Sabha Election 2024 live, Infosys Q4 Results Live, Elections 2024, Election 2024 Date along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, April 18, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On