My ‘wealthiest’ status should not count: TDP leader, richest candidate in Lok Sabha polls | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

My ‘wealthiest’ status should not count: TDP leader, richest candidate in Lok Sabha polls

By, New Delhi
May 10, 2024 10:09 AM IST

Dr Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar, whose declared assets are worth ₹5785 crore, is contesting from Guntur Lok Sabha seat in Andhra Pradesh.

Dr Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar, the richest candidate in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, has stated that his status as the wealthiest contestant “should not count.”

TDP's Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar (
TDP's Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar (

Chandra Sekhar's declared assets are worth 5785 crore. He is from ex-Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Click here for live updates on Lok Sabha elections

“I don't know why there is so much focus on the money aspect,” he told NDTV in an exclusive interview, adding that these days, “politics has become an expensive process.”

When asked why he decided to contest, the TDP leader replied that for him, “it is about giving back to the society.”

“I have probably all the comfort that anybody could ask for. The reason I came is mainly because I wanted to give it back to the society. Once you have that ideology, you can patiently listen to most human problems and solve most of them. As an entrepreneur, you know how to prioritise,” Chandra Sekhar said.

Also Read | Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 2: From 622 cr to 500 — Wealthiest to poorest candidates

Andhra Pradesh, the Osmania Medical College graduate claimed, “is in a lot of debt.”

“We don't have a capital. We don't have a single industry. Therefore, we need the central government's support,” he remarked.

The Telugu Desam candidate has been fielded from the Guntur Lok Sabha constituency, won by the party's Jayadev Galla in the last two general elections.

All 25 parliamentary seats in Andhra Pradesh will poll on May 13. The TDP is contesting in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Jana Sena, with the parties contesting 17, six, and two seats, respectively.

Also, the state will hold assembly polls on the same day. Of the 175 assembly segments, the TDP has candidates on 144 constituencies, the BJP on 21, and Jana Sena, on 10.

The results of both elections will be declared on June 4.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On