New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jul 02, 2020-Thursday



Select Country
Select city
Home / India News / Rajya Sabha disrupted, SP, AAP and Congress MPs stage protests

Rajya Sabha disrupted, SP, AAP and Congress MPs stage protests

The Lok Sabha also adjourned, but for the day, owing to death of its sitting member Hukum Singh.

india Updated: Feb 05, 2018 13:48 IST
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Vice president and Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu in the Rajya Sabha in New Delhi on Monday.
Vice president and Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu in the Rajya Sabha in New Delhi on Monday. (PTI )

The Rajya Sabha was on Monday adjourned till 2 pm before even the Question Hour was taken up after opposition MPs trooped into the well of the house and raised slogans in protest .

Samajwadi Party MPs were protesting against the alleged encounter killings by the police in BJP-ruled Uttar Pradesh when M Venkaiah Naidu, the Rajya Sabha chairman, adjourned the house.

The proceedings began at 11am with the tabling of the listed papers, after which the Zero Hour is held where members raise issues of public interest. The Question Hour, where MPs can ask the government questions about various policies, usually takes place at noon.

Members of the Aam Aadmi Party too protested, but against the issue of sealing of commercial establishments in Delhi.

Congress member Ramachandra Rao also came into the Well holding a banner that read “Do Justice to Andhra Pradesh” in protest against the state not finding a mention in the Union Budget for 2018-19 presented last week.

Naresh Agrawal (SP) had given a notice under rule 267 seeking adjournment of proceedings to take up a discussion on the issue of fake encounters, which was rejected by Naidu who said the matter could be raised through a different notice.

“I don’t want to run the House like this,” Naidu remarked as SP, AAP and the lone Congress member trooped into the Well of the House.

“Let us not have an encounter of Zero Hour,” he said as members shouted slogans. “This is not the way,” he said as he ordered that slogan shouting would not go on record.

Derek O’Brien (TMC) rose to make his Zero Hour submission but nothing could be heard in the din.

Lok Sabha adjourned too

The Lok Sabha was adjourned for the day after paying tribute to BJP member Hukum Singh, who died on Saturday.

Soon after the House met, three new members – Congress members from Rajasthan Karan Singh Yadav and Raghu Sharma as well as TMC member from West Bengal Sajda Ahmed – took oath.

Yadav has been elected from Alwar while Sharma and Ahmed represent Ajmer and Uluberia constituencies, respectively.

After the members took oath, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan made the obituary reference about Singh, who represented Kairana constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

The 79-year-old Singh was also the chairperson of the Standing Committee on Water Resources and member of General Purposes Committee of the Lok Sabha.

“A literary person with deep passion for reading scriptures; poetry and classics, the spirit of which he imbibed in his disciplined life and also reflected in his insightful articles,” Mahajan said while mourning the demise of Singh.

The House stood in silence for a brief while as a mark of respect before the proceedings were adjourned.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading