Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ram Nath Kovind: From virtual anonymity to front-runner in presidential race

Kanpur-born Ram Nath Kovind’s CV has few highlights – a law graduate who cleared Civil Services Examination but did not join and personal associate to Morarji Desai.

india Updated: Jul 17, 2017 14:03 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
New Delhi, Hindustan Times
Ram Nath Kovind,Rashtrapati Bhawan,NDA
Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind arrives for an NDA meeting at Parliament House in New Delhi on Sunday. (PTI)

A two-time Rajya Sabha MP, former BJP spokesman and till recently the Bihar governor, Ram Nath Kovind has never been part of the Lutyen’s Delhi until the limelight was thrust upon him when the ruling party announced his name as its Presidential nominee last month.

And come July 20, he will be set to occupy the most palatial building in the leafy central Delhi – the Rashtrapati Bhawan as India’s 14th President.

As a member of the upper house, Kovind was allotted 53 South Avenue flat. As Bihar governor, 144 North Avenue flat was his home in Delhi. And between the two addresses lies the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The 71-year-old’s journey from South Avenue to the President’s office has been so nondescript that it caught almost everyone on the wrong foot. People in newsrooms franticly searched on Google who Ram Nath Kovind was when BJP president Amit Shah announced his candidature. He wasn’t too familiar to politicians outside the BJP.

1st Presidential poll (1952)
Candidate NameVotes
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 507,400
K.T. Shah 92,827
Thatte Lakshman Ganesh 2,672
Chowdhry Hari Ram 1,954
Krishna Kumar Chatterjee 533
2nd Presidential poll (1957)
Candidate NameVotes
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 459,698
Chowdhry Hari Ram 2,672
Nagendra Narayan Das 2,000
3rd Presidential poll (1962)
Candidate NameVotes
Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan 553,067
Chowdhry Hari Ram/t6,341
Yamuna Prasad Trisulia 3,537
4th Presidential poll (1962)
Candidate NameVotes
Zakir Hussain 471,244
Kota Subbarao 363,971
Khubi Ram 1,369
Yamuna Prasad Trisulla 232
Bhamburkar Shriniwas Gopal 232
Brahma Deo 232
Krishna Kumar Chatterjee 125
Kumar Kamla Singh 125
Chandradutt Senani 0
U.P. Chugani 0
Dr. M.C. Davar 0
Chowdhry Hari Ram 0
Dr. Man Singh Ahluwalia 0
Manohara Holkar 0
Seetharamaiah Ramaswamy Sharma Hoysala 0
Satyabhakt 0
5th Presidential poll (1969)
Candidate NameVotes
Varahagiri Venkata Giri (INDEPENDENT) 401,515 / 420,077
Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy (INDEPENDENT) 313,548 / 405,427
C.D. Deshmukh 112,769
Chandradatt Senani 5,814
Furcharan Kaur 940
Rajabhoj Pandurang Nathuji 831
Babu Lal Mag 576
Chowdhry Hari Ram 125
Sharma Manovihari Anirudh 125
Khubi Ram 94
Bhagmal 0
Krishna Kumar Chatterjee 0
Santosh Singh Kachhwaha 0
Dr. Ramdular Tripathi Chakor 0
Shri Ramanlal Prushottam Vyas 0
6th Presidential poll (1974)
Candidate NameVotes
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (INC) 754,113
Tridib Chaudhuri (INDEPENDENT) 189,196
7th Presidential poll (1977)
Candidate NameVotes
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy Won unopposed*
*37 candidates filed nominations, 36 got rejected
8th Presidential poll (1982)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
Zail Singh Indian National Congress 754,113
H.R. Khanna Independent 282,685
9th Presidential poll (1987)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
R. Venkataraman Indian National Congress 740,148
V. R. Krishna Iyer Independent 281,550
Mithilesh Kumar Independent 2,223
10th Presidential poll (1992)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
Shankar Dayal Sharma Indian Nationlal Congress 675,864
G.G. Swell Independent 346,485
Ram Jethmalani Independent 2,704
11th Presidential poll (1997)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
K.R. Narayanan Indian National Congress 956,290
T.N. Seshan Independent 50,631
Kaka Joginder Singh a.k.a. Dharti Pakad Independent 1,135
12th Presidential poll (2002)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
Abdul Kalam Independent 922,884
Lakshmi Sahgal CPI(M) 107,366
13th Presidential poll (2007)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
Pratibha Patil Indian National Congress 638,116
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat Independent 331,306
14th Presidential poll (2012)
Candidate NamePartyVotes
Pranabh Mukherjee Indian National Congress/UPA 713,763
P.A.Sangma Independent 315,987

The Kanpur-born politician’s CV has few highlights – a law graduate who cleared Civil Services Examination but did not join and personal associate to Morarji Desai before he became PM.

It’s his modest background that Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose to highlight on June 19 when the BJP nominated him.

Modi wrote on Twitter:

As national spokesperson of the BJP between 2010 and 2012, Kovind addressed just three press conferences – all of them having less than an impressive attendance.

“Heavyweight spokesmen overshadowed him,” a BJP leader who worked with Kovind in the media department told HT. “He wasn’t a favourite in TV studios. He was too simple to spice up on-screen debates.” Kovind would not engage “off-the-record” talk and limit himself to the briefing, whatever he had, from the party brass.

There wasn’t much space in the media cell office at BJP headquarters and Kovind used to be the last one to jostle for a room. It wasn’t a big deal for him if could not find a seat in the media cell. He had very few visitors to attend.

Life took a turn for Kovind in 2013. Narendra Singh Tomar, then BJP’s general secretary in-charge for Uttar Pradesh, wanted a suave Dalit leader in Lucknow. Kovind was asked to shift base to Uttar Pradesh. It wasn’t an easy call for him but Kovind decided to accept what destiny had decided for him.

As luck would have it, Amit Shah soon replaced Tomar as the party’s in-charge in Uttar Pradesh. Shah took total control in no time, working overnight to plan a Dalit-OBC outreach. Kovind came in touch with him for the first time.

Kovind had known Modi since his days as sangathan mantri (organisational secretary) of the BJP, but had no interaction with Amit Shah. Kovind built a rapport with Shah in Uttar Pradesh with his no-nonsense politics.

In Bihar, his association with chief minister Nitish Kumar remained peaceful. “Kovind did not let Raj Bhawan become an extension of the BJP,” JD(U)’s general secretary KC Tyagi told HT. “This was one facet of his personality that also impressed Nitish Kumar.”

But as he prepares to maek the transition from the raj Bhawan to the Rashtrapati Bhawan, Kovind will have the challenge to fit into the big shoes of Pranab Mukherjee.

Read| Ram Nath Kovind or Meira Kumar: Presidential election 2017 live updates

First Published: Jul 16, 2017 21:20 IST