Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

Election Results 2023: Huge BJP lead In Nagaland, ahead in Tripura. 10 updates

By, New Delhi
Mar 02, 2023 10:01 AM IST

Assembly Election 2023 Results: Among these three states, it is Tripura which promises to have more national resonance than Meghalaya and Nagaland.

After months of high-voltage campaigns, the counting of votes for the assembly elections in Tripura along with two other northeastern states - Meghalaya and Nagaland - began on Thursday, with the Bharatiya Janata Party looking to deepen its roots in Tripura (as most exit polls predicted its victory), a Left bastion captured by the party in 2018.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (File Photo)

The initial trends, the BJP is ahead as the Left and its ally Congress made a strong start in Tripura. Chief minister Manik Saha is ahead in the Town Bordowali seat after round 1 of the counting.

Among these three states, it is Tripura which promises to have more national resonance than the two others as traditional rivals Congress and the Left have joined hands for the first time to challenge the BJP in the election to the state's 60-member assembly.

Read full election coverage

The counting of votes for Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland began at 8am. "Result trends will start from 8 am on 2nd March," reads a message on the Election Commission of India's portal. Postal ballots will be taken up for counting first, which will be followed by EVMs. The results will be updated on the official website of the election panel.

Also Read | Tripura election 2023 results live

Top 10 points on Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland election results 2023:

1. Early trends from the postal ballot shows the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in 39 seats and the Left and its ally the Congress ahead in 15 seats in Tripura. The new entrant TIPRA Motha of Pradyot Debbarma, the scion of

erstwhile royalty, is leading in 5 seats. Sitting MLA and Congress leader Sudip Roy Barman is leading BJP's Papia Dutta in the Agartala seat.

2. “Postal ballot count is still going on. There are around 1,200 postal votes in all 60 seats. We expect the count of postal ballots to be over by around 10am. Simultaneously, we have started counting of EVMs in all seats at 8:30am and details of the trends after the first round of counting will be available soon,” said Kiran Gitte, CEO of Tripura.

Also Read | Nagaland Election Result 2023 LIVE updates

2. In Meghalaya, the NPP is leading in 18 sets and the Trinamool Congress is leading in 12 seats, according to early trends. The BJP is ahead in 9 seats.

3. In Nagaland, the NDPP and its allies are leading in 50 seats, while the NPF is ahead in 3 seats. Amid tight security, the counting of votes for assembly elections in the three northeastern states began.

4. Tripura: BJP candidate Surajit Datta is leading in Ramnagar seat.

5. Meghalaya: Garo National Council candidate Nikman Marak is leading NPP's Sengchim Sangma in Chokpot seat. TMC's Cherak Momin is leading NPP's Rupert Momin in Kharkutta. NPP's Timothy Shira is leading in Resubelpara. TMC's Rajesh Marak is leading in Rongara Siju. In Pabiacherra seat, the Congress is leading. Former CM and TMC leader Mukul Sangma is leading in Songsak. TMC's Zenith Sangma, brother of Mukul Sangma, is trailing in Rangsakona. TMC's Miani Shira, daughter of Mukul Sangma, is leading in Ampatti.

Also Read | Meghalaya Election Results 2023 Live updates

6. Nagaland: K Yhome of the NDPP is leading NPF's K Liezietsu in Northern Angami-I. V Kezo of NPF is leading in Pfutsero. TY Sangtam of RPI (A) is leading in Pungro Kiphire. VK Sangtam of the BJP is leading in Seyochung Sitimi. PB Chang of the BJP is leading in Tuensang Sadar-I.

7. Tripura had voted on February 16. In this battle among the national parties, it is the Pradyot Debbarma-led TIPRA Motha that has emerged as an X-factor as the sway of its founder among a big section of the tribal population has disturbed conventional calculations, more so as the BJP and its ally Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) had done well in the tribal region in 2018.

Also Read | Election 2023 results LIVE updates: Counting in Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland

8. In the 2018 assembly election, the BJP had won 36 seats and the IPFT eight. With the IPFT in decline following the death of its founder NC Debbarma, the burden of delivering a majority rests largely on the shoulders of the BJP while its two main rivals have united.

9. Meghalaya and Nagaland went to the assembly polls on February 27. While regional parties remain bigger players in both Meghalaya and Nagaland, the BJP ran a determined campaign with its bigwigs, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah, in the states to expand its footprints.

10. For the first time, the BJP has fought on all 60 seats in Meghalaya and constantly targeted National People's Party (NPP) leader and chief minister Conrad Sangma for running the “most corrupt” state government in the country. Interestingly, the BJP was a partner in the state government but broke ties ahead of the poll. . In Nagaland, which had the unique feature of having no opposition as all parties with a presence in the 60-member assembly backed the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party-led government, the BJP is again fighting the polls in alliance with the NDPP.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now