40 per cent polling in Pampore in J&K

About 40 per cent of voters exercised their franchise in by-poll in Pampore in J&K while moderate turnout was recorded in rest of six assembly seats in five states.

india Updated: Feb 27, 2003 15:43 IST

The Humnabad constituency in Karnataka recorded the highest 68 per cent polling among the seven seats across six states where by-polls were held alongwith the assembly elections in four states on Wednesday.

The Ratabari constituency in Assam recorded65 per cent, Bhokarden (Maharashtra) 62 per cent, Sattankulam (Tamil Nadu) and Gauriganj (UP) 55 per cent each, Haidergarh (UP) 54 per cent and Pampore (J and K) 40 per cent.

The by-poll in Pampore assembly constituency in Jammu and Kashmir passed off peacefully on Wednesday despite a boycot call from separatists.

The turnout was much higher than the 19 per cent during the Assembly polls held in September-October last year and the people began queueing up outside the polling stations well before the scheduled start of 8 a.m, Lankar said.

She said 110-year-old Fazi who cast her vote at a polling station at awantipora was the oldest voter to exercise her franchise in the by-poll. Superintendent of police Vijay Kumar said the poll was incident free.

Braving inclement weather and militant threats, people of Kashmir have reaffirmed their commitment to democracy by turning out in large numbers, an official spokesman said.

Moderate turnout in Haidergarh, Gauriganj in UP

An estimated 54 per cent electorate exercised their franchise in Haidergarh and 55 in Gauriganj assembly by-polls respectively, election commission said.

There was no report of any untoward incident from anywhere, sources said.

62% cast vote in Bhokerdhan in M'rashtra

A total of 62per cent polling was recorded on Wednesday for Bhokerdhan Assembly by-election in Jalna district of Maharashtra.

Electronic voting machines were used for the first time in Marathwada region, where the constituency is located.

The by-poll for the constituency with a total of 2.15 lakh electorate, was necessitated by the demise of BJP MLA Vitthal Sakpal.

NCP had fielded Chandrakant Danave, son of former MP Pundalikrao Danave, who recently defected from BJP while the BJP nominee is Shivaji Thote. There were seven candidates in the fray.

Sattankulam: The by-poll for Sattankulam Assembly constituency passed off peacefully with about 50-55 per cent voters exercising their franchise. The officials extended the "voting time" by 30 minutes to 45 minutes in the booths where the EVMs got stuuck. AIADMK candidate Neelamegavarnam himself had to wait for 45 minutes as the EVM did not work when he pressed the button to cast his vote at Padukkapathu village.

In Anavarathanallur, a Congress agent was injured in an assault allegedly by the AIADMK men leading to a clash. Police rushed to the spot and dispersed clashing groups by resorting to lathicharge.

Ratabari: An estimated 65 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the byelection to Ratabari assembly constituency in Assam's Karimganj district. Polling in the 146 polling stations in the state was peaceful with no untoward incident reported. Electronic voting machines (EVMS) were being used for the first time in the constituency.

First Published: Feb 26, 2003 19:41 IST