HT Image
HT Image

AP bypolls: TRS suffers shock defeat

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) suffers shock defeats in the by-polls to four Lok Sabha and 18 assembly seats.
PTI | By HT Correspondent, Hyderabad
UPDATED ON JUN 01, 2008 04:23 PM IST

In a major setback to the Telangana statehood demand in Andhra Pradesh, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) suffered shock defeats in the byelections to four Lok Sabha and 18 assembly seats.

In an election, widely seen as a referendum on the Telangana issue, the ruling Congress and main opposition TDP posted impressive gains at the cost of the Telangana party.

Out of the four Lok Sabha seats, the TRS managed to retain only two, while Congress and TDP bagged one seat each.

In the 18 assembly constituencies, the Telangana party could win only seven, while Congress and TDP wrested six and five seats each from TRS.

The bypolls were caused by en masse resignation of four MPs and 16 MLAs of TRS in protest against the UPA government's failure to carve out Telangana from Andhra Pradesh.

Two other assembly seats fell vacant following the death of sitting members.

The major blow to the TRS came in the form of drastic fall in majority for its supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao who retained his Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat with a slender margin of 15,289 votes.

He had won the seat with a huge margin of over two lakh votes in the 2006 election.

Following the poor performance of his party, Rao offered to quit the post of party presidentship owning moral responsibility, party sources said.

However, he was being persuaded not to take such a step.

Story Saved