Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bangladesh want to win second ODI

Bangladeshi selectors rested Mohammad Ashraful and swing bowler Syed Rasel while naming a 12-member team against Australia.

india Updated: Apr 25, 2006 15:30 IST

Bangladesh want to make a comeback and win the nextone-dayer against Australia, the team's captain said on Monday.

"We want to come back," captain Habibul Bashar said during practice on the eve of the second match against Australia.

"Our target is to complete the 50 overs and go for a win." Bangladesh— who had hoped to repeat last year's shock win over Australia at Cardiff, Wales— lost the first one-day match on Sunday by four wickets, after being bowled out for a paltry 195 runs in 47 overs.

But Australia had to fight hard for 44 overs to reach the winning target of 196— losing six wickets.

"We were near a win," Bashar said. "Maybe 20 more runs would have made the difference."

Bashar, Bangladesh's most prolific batsman, admitted that the batting order was repeating the same mistakes, which needed to be fixed.

"We have to remedy that and make less mistakes," Bashar said. "We play well sometimes, we need to gain self-belief that we can play well consistently."

Bangladeshi selectors, meanwhile, rested Mohammad Ashraful and swing bowler Syed Rasel while naming a 12-member team. They were replaced with all-rounder Alok Kapali, who was injured for the first match, and pacer Shahadat Hossain.

Ashraful, whose a-run-a-ball century inspired Bangladesh to the memorable five-wicket win at Cardiff, has been out of form in recent games.

"Ashraful is going through a bad patch, so thinking of his future, we decided to rest him," Bashar said.

Australia, who were scheduled to practice later in the day, were to name a final lineup ahead of Tuesday's game at Fatullah, near the capital, Dhaka.

Australia now lead the three match limited-overs series 1-0, after winning the Test series 2-0.


Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (captain), Habibul Bashar, Khaled Mashud, Shahriar Nafees, Rajin Saleh, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kapali, Tushar Imran, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Bin Mortuza, Abdur Razzak and Shahadat Hossain.

Australia (from): Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Daniel Cullen, Bradley Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, James Hopes, Mark Cosgrove and Brett Dorey.

First Published: Apr 25, 2006 15:30 IST