Benefit of doubt should go to fielder: ICC

The controversy over Dhoni's dismissal in the first Test against Windies has prompted ICC to clarify the regulations regarding boundary decisions.

india Updated: Jun 14, 2006 17:29 IST

The controversy over Mahendra Singh Dhoni's disputed dismissal in the first cricket Test against West Indies in Antigua has prompted the ICC to clarify the regulations regarding boundary decisions.

In a protocol issued to all the umpires in the ICC Elite Panel, the International Cricket Council has effectively stated that the benefit of doubt should go to the fielder if there was confusion over whether the catch was taken inside the boundary.

When referred to, the TV Umpire needs to just decide whether a boundary was scored or not, even if the TV replays are inconclusive, it said in a press release on Wednesday.

If he says the boundary was scored, the batsman is not out and if he says it was not scored, the batsman should be deemed out, it said.

Explaining the protocol in detail, the ICC said, in case of uncertainty over whether a catch had been completed or a boundary scored, the on-field umpires were entitled to refer the boundary decision to the TV umpire in accordance with the Playing Conditions.

"The TV umpire has the responsibility to make a decision solely on whether a boundary has been scored," he said.

"If the TV replay evidence is inconclusive, the TV umpire must still make a boundary decision. His decision must be made using the existing convention in cricket, which dictates that the status quo prevails - that is because no evidence exists of a boundary being scored, no boundary is awarded."

"This decision is conveyed back to the on-field umpires. In these circumstances, as no boundary has been scored, the only decision left for the on-field umpire at the bowler's end is to give the batsman out caught."

First Published: Jun 14, 2006 16:04 IST