Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bombay to Goa: soon you can take your cell number with you

Moving town? Here's one headache you won't need to deal with. Your mobile number will travel with you, Manoj Gairola reports. Connecting people

india Updated: May 08, 2012 01:24 IST
Manoj Gairola
Manoj Gairola
Hindustan Times

Moving town? Here's one headache you won't need to deal with. Your mobile number will travel with you.

Mobile telephone subscribers in the country will be able to change their operators while retaining their numbers when they shift from one state to another if the New Telecom Policy (NTP) 2012, to be announced this month, goes through.

"We have finalised NTP (2012). By the end of this month the department will announce the policy," an official of the department of telecommunications (DoT) told HT.

One important feature of NTP (2012) is full mobile number portability (MNP). At present, MNP allows a subscriber to change his operator only within a circle (boundaries of a telecom circle roughly coincides with the boundary of a state). If a subscriber shifts from one state to another, he cannot avail of the MNP facility.

Once NTP (2012) is implemented and the full MNP regime is in place, a subscriber would be able to change his operator and at the same time retain his number, even if he moves to another state/circle.

MNP has been a highly successful step in India. Till the end of March, close to 42 million subscribers had opted for MNP, according to telecom regulatory authority of India data.

"Full MNP is an important development as it will give more choice to the consumers," the CEO of a pan-India telecom service provider said.

Another important feature of NTP (2012) is to achieve free roaming throughout the country. Currently, a subscriber has to pay up to one rupee per minute as roaming charges. Though some of the new operators do not charge any roaming charge if the incoming call originates from the same network.

First Published: May 07, 2012 21:09 IST