Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Canadian polls: South Asian results

The results of the South Asian candidates who ran for the Canadian General Election

india Updated: Jan 25, 2006 12:22 IST

Below is a a list of winners and losers among the South Asian candidates who ran for the Jan 23 Canadian general election:



1. Gurbax S. Malhi, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Bramalea-Gore-Malton, Ontario
2. Ruby Dhalla, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Brampton-Springdale, Ontario
3. Yasmin Ratansi, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Don Valley East, Ontario
4. Navdeep Bains, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Mississauga-Brampton South, Ontario
5. Wajid Khan, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Mississauga-Streetsville, Ontario


6. Deepak Obhrai, Conservative Party, (incumbent) Calgary East, Alberta
7. Rahim Jaffer, Conservative Party, (incumbent) Edmonton-Strathcona, Alberta

British Columbia:

8. Nina Grewal, Conservative Party, (incumbent) Fleetwood-Port Kells, British Columbia
9. Ujjal Dosanjh, Liberal Party, (incumbent) Vancouver South, British Columbia


Nova Scotia:

10. Rakesh Khosla, Conservative Party, Halifax West, Nova Scotia


11. Tenzin D. Khangsar, Conservative Party, Brossard -La Prairie, Quebec
12. Ehsan Mohammadian, New Democratic Party, Chateauquay - Saint Constant, Quebec
13. Alia Haddad, Liberal Party, Laval, Quebec
14. Mustaque A. Sarker, Conservative Party, Papineau, Quebec
15. Shameem Siddiqui, New Democratic Party, Pierrefonds-Dollard, Quebec


16. Sam Hundal, Conservative Party, Brampton-Springdale, Ontario
17. Upali Jinadasa Wannaku Rallage, Communist Party, Brampton-Springdale, Ontario
18. Bal Gosal, Conservative Party, Brampton-West, Ontario
19. Jaipaul Massey-Singh, Green Party, Brampton-West, Ontario
20. Jagtar Singh Shergill, New Democratic Party, Brampton West, Ontario
21. Amanjit Singh Khroad, Conservative Party, Etobicoke North, Ontario
22. Ali Naqvi, New Democratic Party, Etobicoke North, Ontario
23. Shane Jolley, Green Party, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, Ontario
24. Anwar Naqvi, New Democratic Party, Halton, Ontario
25. Ajmer Mandur, Conservative Party, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario
26. Fayaz Choudhary, Progressive Canadian Party, Markham-Unionville, Ontario
27. Partap Dua, Independent, Markham-Unionville, Ontario
28. Nirvan Balkissoon, New Democratic Party, Mississauga-Brampton South, Ontario
29. Arnjeet Sangha, Conservative Party, Mississauga-Brampton South, Ontario
30. Grace Yogaretnam, Green Party, Mississauga-Brampton South, Ontario
31. Rupinder Brar, New Democratic Party, Missisauga-Erindale, Ontario
32. Raminder Gill, Conservative Party, (incumbent) Mississauga-Streetsville, Ontario
33. Anwar Syed, Independent, Ottawa-Center, Ontario
34. Farooq Khan, Independent, Scarborough-Guildwood, Ontario
35. Asif Hossain, Progressive Canadian Party, Trinity-Spadina, Ontario
36. Ajay Krishnan, Green Party, Whitby-Oshawa, Ontario
37. Parm Gill, Conservative, York West, Ontario
38. Soumen Deb - LTN Party, Don Valley West


39. Parmjeet Gill, Liberal Party, Winnipeg North, Manitoba


40. Ghazanfar Khan, Canadian Action Party, Calgary East, Alberta
41. Jaswinder S. Johal, Liberal Party, Calgary Northeast, Alberta
42. Amarjit Grewal, Liberal Party, Edmonton-Mill Woods-Beaumont, Alberta
43. Chandra Segaran Swamy, Independent, Edmonton Center, Alberta

British Columbia:

44. Manjeet Uppal, New Democratic Party, Nanaimo-Alberni, British Columbia
45. Sunny Athwal, Green Party, Newton-North Delta, British Columbia
46. Harjit Daudharia, Communist Party, Newton-North Delta, British Columbia
47. Sukh Dhaliwal, Liberal Party, Newton-North Delta, British Columbia
48. Tarlok Sablok, Conservative Party, Vancouver South, British Columbia

First Published: Jan 25, 2006 12:22 IST