Congress bags seven seats, BJP 3 in HP
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress bags seven seats, BJP 3 in HP

The Congress' Anita Verma wins from Hamirpur while Himachal Speaker Ghulab Singh Thakur of BJP lost in Joginder Nagar.

india Updated: Mar 01, 2003 11:31 IST

In Himachal Pradesh, out of seven results declared in the 68-member assembly, Congress won four and was leading in 24 other constituencies while BJP has bagged three seats and was ahead in nine. Elections were held only for 65 seats.

A major upset in the state was the defeat of Assembly Speaker Ghulab Singh Thakur in Joginder Nagar seat. Congress stalwarts Virbhadra Singh and Vidya Stokes were leading in Rohroo and Kumarsain seats respectively.

BJP chief Jaikishan Sharma was trailing in Santogarh.

Anita Verma of Congress won from Hamirpur. The party has also won Garget and Kulehar constituencies. BJP bagged the Mewa seat.

Himachal Vikas Congress was ahead in three seats with its chief Sukh Ram leading by 120 votes in Mandi.

While Pradesh Congress Committee chief Vidya Stokes was leading in Kumarsain, BJP chief Jaikishan Sharma was trailing in Santogarh by 600 votes.

Former chief minister and senior Congress leader Virbhadra Singh was leading in Rohroo. Assembly Speaker and BJP candidate Gulab Singh was trailing in Joginder Nagar.

Congress' Harbhajan Singh was leading in Shimla and Ishwar Das in Anni. Congress candidate was also ahead in Rampur.

Baldev Sharma of BJP was leading in Nadonta and Mansa Ram of HVC was trailing in Karsog. Independents and others were leading in six seats.

First Published: Mar 01, 2003 09:30 IST