Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi BJP fights in Khurana?s backyard

The BJP has not yet announced the list of its candidates from the assembly seats falling under Sadar Parliamentary constituency, apart from that of Khurana.

india Updated: Nov 11, 2003 17:40 IST
Arati Bhargava
Arati Bhargava

Delhi BJP president Madan Lal Khurana will file his nomination papers from the Moti Nagar assembly constituency on November 12.

While BJP candidates have already plunged into pre-poll activities, not all seems well with the party.

Sources said that though Khurana has been busy ensuring that the candidates are finalised in other MPs’ parliamentary constituencies, not a single seat (apart from his own) has been declared from the Sadar parliamentary seat.

The seat covers five assembly segments and apart from Moti Nagar, the party is yet to decide on contestants for the other four.

Party sources said Khurana had not been given a free hand in selecting candidates in his area and was facing pressure from central leaders. Khurana, however, maintained that he was waiting for the Congress list before declaring the BJP lot.

Union minister Vijay Goel on Monday, introduced the candidates from the four assembly segments in his area. He said he had ensured that young people were fielded and among those chosen are one brahmin, Dharam Vir Sharma (Chandni Chowk), one Vaish, Raj Kishore Gupta (Ballimaran), one Muslim, Qasim Malik (Matia Mahal) and one Punjabi, Virendra Babbar (Pahar Ganj).

First Published: Nov 11, 2003 17:40 IST