New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 21, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2019

Devendra Fadnavis' ministry: a mix of youth and experience

The 10-member Devendra Fadnavis ministry sworn in Mumbai on Friday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi is a blend of youth and experience.

india Updated: Oct 31, 2014 20:27 IST
HT Correspondent and PTI
HT Correspondent and PTI
Hindustan Times

The 10-member Devendra Fadnavis ministry sworn in Mumbai on Friday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi is a blend of youth and experience. A look at the profiles of the ministers.

Devendra Fadnavis
He is BJP’s Mr Clean. The 44-year old Fadnavis was handpicked for the chief minister’s post because of his clean image and impressive performance as state BJP president. Former mayor of Nagpur and a four-term MLA, Fadnavis is the 27th chief minister of Maharashtra and the first BJP man to head the state government.

Eknath Khadse
One of the seniormost BJP leaders in the state, Khadse was a contender for CM’s post. The 63-year old leader from Jalgaon (north Maharashtra) is most experienced when it comes to handling administration. As a minister in previous Sena-BJP government, he handled finance, irrigation and higher education portfolios during 1995-1999. He was also the Opposition Leader in the outgoing 12th state assembly (2009 -2014)

Sudhir Mungantiwar
A five-time MLA from Ballarpur in Vidarbha, Mungantiwar is a former president of Maharashtra BJP and a close associate of Union minister Nitin Gadkari. He is one of the key BJP leaders with organisational as well as administrative experience. He was the minister of tourism and consumer protection in Sena-BJP government in 1995-99.

Vinod Tawde
A students’ leader who rose up the ranks, Tawde has handled various responsibilities including Mumbai BJP chief to the general secretary of the party. As Opposition Leader in the legislative council, he launched a scathing attack on the Congress-NCP government. Elected as MLA from Borivli, he is considered as party’s Maratha face.

Pankaja Munde
Pankaja Munde won her second term as MLA from Parli in Marathwada region. Pankaja has emerged as the next generation leader after the untimely death of her father and Union minister Gopinath Munde. She was inducted in the party’s core committee few months ago and is now considered as party’s OBC face.

Chandrakant Patil
A surprise entry into the cabinet, the low-profile Patil is a close-confidant of BJP chief Amit Shah. A RSS functionary who handled various responsibilities in Sangh affiliated students’ organization ABVP and later in state BJP, Patil represents western Maharashtra. He is member of the Legislative Council from Pune graduates seat. Till two days ago, Patil was tipped to succeed Fadnavis as the next state BJP chief.

Prakash Mehta
A six-time MLA from Ghatkopar East, Mehta represents Gujarati community. He was the excise minister in 1995-99 Sena-BJP government and was also the Mumbai BJP president.

Vishnu Savara
A low profile tribal leader from Palghar district, Savra also served as a minister in Sena-BJP government. He is elected from Vikramgad in Palghar district.

Ministers of state
Vidya Thakur
Former deputy mayor of Mumbai, Thakur was elected from Goregaon. She defeated Shiv Sena leader Subhash Desai from Goregaon Assembly constituency in the recently held assembly polls. She is inducted as minister as representation to north Indian community in Mumbai that stood by the BJP in the assembly elections.

Dilip Kamble
Elected from Pune city, Kamble also represents scheduled castes. He was a junior minister in first saffron government during 1995-99. He won the polls from Pune Cantonment defeating sitting MLA Ramesh Bagve, a former minister, by over 14,000 votes.

First Published: Oct 31, 2014 20:24 IST

more from india