HT Image
HT Image

Divide Uttar Pradesh into four states, demands Mayawati

The Bahujan Samaj Party demanded splitting of Uttar Pradesh into four smaller states on Wednesday, a day after the Congress Working Committee (CWC) urged the government to form a separate state of Telangana.
Agencies | By HT Correspondent, Lucknow
UPDATED ON JUL 31, 2013 01:25 PM IST

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati welcomed the formation of Telengana while reiterating her demand to divide Uttar Pradesh into four separate states on Wednesday.

“We welcome the Telangana decision, the BSP has always supported a separate Telangana. Our party has always advocated smaller states and governance units,” she said at a press conference.

She said Uttar Pradesh should be divided into four smaller states - Purvanchal, Bundelkhand, Awadh Pradesh and Pashchim Pradesh.

"When this population is divided between four states, development will increase," she said.

"Ministers in central government who hail from Uttar Pradesh should build pressure on the central government for formation of these states," she added.

She added her party has been demanding this for a long time.

“It's been long since the BSP government sent a proposal to the Union government to divide UP into four states. We demand that a decision in this matter should be taken at the earliest.”

Attacking the UP government for suspending Durga Shakti Nagpal, sub-divisional magistrate of Gautam Budh Nagar, she said, “The suspension of IAS officer Durga is one more step towards the deteriorating law and order in UP.”

Ostensibly penalised for the demolition of a wall at a disputed place of worship, the SDM had taken on the sand mafia in her district and had been successful in curbing rampant illegal mining to a large extent.

Story Saved