Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 16, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

How the day unfolded: 10 things to know about Uttarakhand floor test

Tuesday’s trust vote in Uttarakhand assembly is expected to end the nearly-two-month-long political impasse in the hill state. Ten points on how the day unfolded leading to the test…

Uttarakhand crisis Updated: May 10, 2016 17:13 IST
Anupam Trivedi /Prithviraj Singh, Hindustan Times
uttrakhand,congress mlas,BJP MLAs
Former Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat outside the main gate of Vidhan Sabha ahead of the floor test in the Assembly in Dehradun on Tuesday. (PTI)

Tuesday’s trust vote in Uttarakhand assembly is expected to end the nearly-two-month-long political impasse in the hill state.

Read: Cong claims victory in Uttarakhand, SC to declare result tomorrow

Ten points on how the day unfolded leading to the test

1. Congress MLAs and four members supporting Harish Rawat met party leaders Ambika Soni and Gulab Nabi Azad at a private hotel on Tuesday morning. From here, the party MLAs headed to the assembly

2. Twenty seven BJP MLAs met at another hotel with leader of opposition Ajay Bhat and did a quick recap before moving to the assembly

3. Harish Rawat was present at the Assembly gate with former minister Yashpal Arya. He greeted all MLAs, including BJP members.

4. Hours before the trust vote, BSP supremo Mayawati announced support of her two MLAs to the Congress and soon the two legislators surfaced after remaining ‘untraceable’.

5. As expected, BJP rebel MLA Bhim Lal Arya was seen with Congress members.

Read | Rawat’s win in Uttarakhand may halt BJP’s ‘annexation’ drive

Read | Who said what after the trust vote

A smiling state Congress president Kishore Upadhyay lifted by cheerful party workers as he showed “victory sign” upon arriving at the Rajiv Bhawan in Dehradun. (Neha Pant / HT Photo)

6. Congress MLA Rekha Arya gave a shock to the Congress, who was claiming her support. She entered the assembly with BJP MLAs and even flashed a victory sign.

7. The leader of Congress legislative party (CLP), Harish Rawat, sought the trust vote as soon as the House met at 11 am.

8. Twenty eight members - 27 from the BJP and one Congress rebel Rekha Arya - believed to have voted against the motion. Thirty four members - 27 Congress, one rebel BJP, three independents, two BSP and one UKD member - believed to have voted in favour of the motion (this includes the speaker’s vote).

9. The video-taped House proceedings will be sent to the Supreme Court inside a sealed envelope carrying details about the votes.

10. The BJP members were the first to come out of House followed by the Congress members.

Read | Uttarakhand floor test ends, Congress celebrates ‘victory’

Read | As it happened: Cong claims victory in Uttarakhand trust vote


  • March 18: Rebel Congress legislatures and BJP join hands, demand division of votes on Appropriation Bill. Both move to Raj Bhawan
  • March 19: Rebel Harak Singh Rawat sacked from Harish Rawat’s cabinet, Speaker issues notice ask rebels to submit reply by Mar 26; Governor ask Rawat to seek floor test on March 28
  • March 19-20: Rebels and BJP move to New Delhi
  • March 21: BJP march towards President’s house, complaints about constitutional crisis
  • March 26: A secret video released, shows the former CM Rawat dealing for rebels. Union cabinet meets the same day, recommends imposition of President’s Rule in state
  • March 27: President approves Central rule. BJP, rebels welcome the move; Congress fumes. Speaker disqualifies nine rebel Congress MLAs
  • March 29: Congress moves HC against Prez Rule, single bench of HC asks for a floor test
  • March 30: Double bench of HC stays the single bench order. Asks Congress and Union govt to reply
  • April 4: Union govt files counter affidavit, gives reason behind imposition of Prez Rule
  • April 5: HC refuses to stay disqualification of nine rebels and posts the matter for April 23
  • April 21: HC revokes Prez rule after Centre fails to commit that it will not revoke its rule for a week, Centre decides to challenge the HC order in the Supreme Court. Rawat suo moto assumes CM’s office
  • April 22: The Supreme Court stays the HC ruling revoking Prez rule
  • May 6: SC orders a floor test in the state assembly on May 10
  • May 9: SC bars rebel MLAs from voting in the Uttarakhand floor test
  • May 10: Congress claims victory in Uttarakhand after a tight trust vote in the assembly; SC to declare official result on Wednesday

The nine rebel MLAs are Vijay Bahuguna, Harak Singh Rawat, Kunwar Pranav Singh ‘Champion’, Shaila Rani Rawat, Umesh Sharma ‘Kau’, Shailendra Mohan Singhal, Amrita Rawat, Subodh Uniyal and Pradeep Batra.

They were disqualified from participating in the floor test which took place on Tuesday.

Read more about them here.


The law was added to the Constitution as the tenth schedule by the 52nd amendment during Rajiv Gandhi’s tenure in 1985 and it aimed to check the ‘Aya Ram, Gaya Ram’ (frequent defection by legislators) phenomenon in Indian politics.

Read more about disqualification, expulsion and splits and mergers under the anti-defection law here.

First Published: May 10, 2016 14:14 IST