Inzamam could face four-Test ban: ICC
Pak skipper could face a ban of either four Tests or eight ODIs if found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute after forfeiting the final Test.india Updated: Aug 22, 2006 12:14 IST
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq could face a ban of either four Tests or eight one-dayers if he is found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute after forfeiting the fourth and final cricket Test against England in controversial fashion at the Oval.
If Inzamam is only found guilty of a primary offence of changing the condition of the ball, ban could be for one Test or two one-day internationals, depending on which Pakistan plays first, International Cricket Council Chief Executive Malcolm Speed said on Monday.
He said the ICC had appointed Sri Lankan match referee Ranjan Madhugalle as the adjudicator and hearing could take place on Friday.
"There are other provisions under the code of conduct that would enable a charge to be laid for bringing the game into disrepute and that is being considered this morning.
"It would be directed at the captain (Inzamam-ul-Haq). The captain is responsible for the actions of the team, that's very clearly laid out in the laws of the game and it's one of the things that we try very hard to uphold.
"The ball tampering charge, that will be dealt with, and there is power there for the match referee to fine or ban the player there.
"Similarly, if other charges are laid, the player could face fines or if he is found guilty, he could face a fine or a ban."
First Published: Aug 21, 2006 19:49 IST