J&K govt announces gallantry awards for 27

5 have been given Sher-i-Kashmir police medal while 22 were awarded with Sher-i-Kashmir police medal.

india Updated: Aug 15, 2006 18:55 IST

Jammu and Kashmir government on Tuesday announced awards and gallantry medals for 27 police personnel for their meritorious services on the occasion of Independence Day celebrations in Srinagar.

Five police officials have been given Sher-i-Kashmir police medal for meritorious service while 22 have been awarded with Sher-i-Kashmir police medal for gallantry.

The police personnel who have been awarded medals for meritorious service include ADG (Security) Madan Lal, IGP K Rajindra, IGP (traffic) AR Khan, Dy SP CID Dev Raj Bhagat and Inspector Mohammad Aslam.

Those given gallantry medals are SSP Reasi JL Sharma, Additional SP, Doda, Varinder Sharma, Dy SP (now SP) Zahid Naseem Manhas, Dy SP, Pulwama, Imtiyaz Hussain Mir, DySP, Handwara, PN Tickoo, SDPO Reasi Pawan Kumar Parihar, DySP, Rajouri, TR Katoch, DySP HQRS Rajouri KS Jasrotia and SDPO, Poonch, Yogal Manhas.

First Published: Aug 15, 2006 18:55 IST