Jaskaur Meena

Updated on Apr 27, 2004 01:58 PM IST

Agrarian economics specialist, she is a BJP candidate from the constituency of Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | Byhindustantimes.com

A farming and agrarian economics specialist, Jaskaur Meena, is a BJP candidate from the constituency of Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan.

She was born in Rajasthan on May 3rd 1947, to Late Shri Bhagwana Ram Meena and Late Smt. Dhankaur Bai (Dhanni).  And went on to pursue her studies at Rajasthan University, Jaipur, graduating with a MA and B.Ed degree.

On 13 March 1967 she married Shri Srilal Meena, with whom she has two daughters. Before being elected into her 1st term in the Lok Sabha she worked as an educationalist and specialized in farming.

Key political positions held:

1999           Elected to 13th Lok Sabha

      Member, Committee on Human Resource Development 
                  Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes/tribes 
                  Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways

Jan 03-
       Union Minister of State, Ministry of  Human Resource Development

Did you know?

Jas Kaur has participated in a variety of activities that are extensions of her work in the office. In 1993 she set up "Gramin Mahila Vidyapeeth" in a village in the Sawai Madhopur constituency. 

The program brings girls belonging to families devoid of educational facilities under the preview of education. It was set up with public co-operation and has been constructed with the active participation of 4,000 families. 

Listening to Marwari songs, composing poems and working to promote the women awareness are activities that take up a lot of her time.  

Election Result of Sawai Madhopur-ST Lok Sabha Constituency

Total electorate                                           11,77,950
Total votes polled                                          5,15,834
Poll percentage                                               43.79%
Valid votes                                                    5,11,512

Votes polled in favor of the first four leading candidates 

(1) Smt. Jaskaur Meena         (BJP)       2,77,014      54.16% 
(2) Ms. Usha                        (INC)       2,18,133      42.64% 
(3) Shri Dhable Ram               (BSP)         10,738        2.10% 
(4) Shri Harkesh                    (SP)            3,921        0.77%

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, November 27, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals