Lara, Gayle blitz takes WI to victory
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lara, Gayle blitz takes WI to victory

WI survives late strikes to beat Aussies by three wkts and push India close to elimination in the tri-series. Scorecard

india Updated: Sep 19, 2006 03:54 IST

Captain Brian Lara made 87 and opener Chris Gayle hit 79 as the West Indies defeated Australia by three wickets in the fourth one-day international of the tri-series on Monday.

West Indies survived late strikes by the Aussies to push India close to elimination in the DLF Cup tri-series.

The Caribbeans were cruising towards victory until Lara got out with the scorecard reading 242 for four.This triggered a minor collapse as three more wickets fell for 13 runs. But Dwayne Bravo, 37 not out, and Carlton Baugh 7 not out, saw the side safely through for the second win in the tournament.

Chasing a daunting target of 274 runs, West Indies openers got off to a cautious start before Chanderpaul edged a rising delivery off Brett Lee in the slips for a duck.

After Chanderpaul's early departure, Sarwan and Gayle led the West Indies progress before the former was dismissed caught behind by Bracken.

After Sarwan's fall, skipper Brian Lara and Chris Gayle turned on the heat with some aggressive batting display.

Australia have their backs pinned to the wall as the two batsmen took charge of the proceedings and kept on the momentum with blistering fifties.

After Gayle's departure, skipper took charge of the proceedings and kept up the momentum along with Bravo as West Indies move closer to victory.

Australia innings

Stand-in captain Mike Hussey led from the front with a magnificent century to propel Australia to a commanding 273 after a middle order batting collapse.

West Indies bowlers put up a disciplined performance to wreck the Australian innings after Hussey won the toss and elected to bat.

Openers Simon Katich and Mathew Hayden got Australia to a steady start but the former'sdismissal in the 10th over was the beginning of Australia's troubles.

He was run out for 22 runs when he tried taking a needless third run and found himself stranded as Matthew Hayden did not respond to the call. The Aussies were then 41 for one.

Shane Watson, who has had a fantastic tournament so far, then went for a duck, caught by Brian Lara at covers off a Jerome Taylor delivery.

Andrew Symonds, playing his first match in the tournament, also failed to find his touch and was caught by Dwayne Smith off a Ian Bradshaw delivery for eight.

Thereafter, Matthew Hayden and Michael Hussey put on a crucial 40-run stand before the opener was caught by Taylor at short fine leg off a Dwayne Bravo delivery for 49 runs.

After Hayden's departure, Hussey led the Australian fightback with a timely fifty and along with Haddin continued to rebuild the innings.

After Hussey's half-century, Haddin too followed suit with a fifty as they carried on the rebuilding process.

Earlier, Katich got a life when Hinds messed up with a simple run-out chance in the very first over of the match. But from there on the two openers went along very smoothly.

The Aussies were experimenting in Kuala Lumpur, and captain Ricky Ponting took a break handing over his responsibilities to Hussey.

Simon Katich opened the batting with Matthew Hayden, who returned for his first one-day international in more than a year.

Speedster Brett Lee got his first start of the series, as did all-rounder Andrew Symonds. Glenn McGrath was rested.

West Indies fast bowler Corey Collymore remained injured and Fidel Edwards was left out, meaning Jerome Taylor and Ian Bradshaw spearheaded their attack. Marlon Samuels came into the side.

Australia, meanwhile, were without their new bowling sensation Mitchell Johnson, who took four wickets against India on Saturday only for the match to be abandoned because of rain.


RT Ponting, MEK Hussey, NW Bracken, SR Clark, MJ Clarke, DJ Cullen, BJ Haddin, ML Hayden, GB Hogg, SM Katich, B Lee, GD McGrath, DR Martyn, A Symonds, SR Watson

West Indies: BC Lara, RR Sarwan, CS Baugh, IDR Bradshaw, DJ Bravo, S Chanderpaul, CD Collymore, FH Edwards, CH Gayle, WW Hinds, RS Morton, MN Samuels, DR Smith, JE Taylor

First Published: Sep 18, 2006 10:35 IST