Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Main bodies of Europian Union

The three main bodies are European Parliament, European Commission and European Court.

india Updated: Oct 09, 2006 16:22 IST

The European Parliament

Its main role is to consider most of the laws proposed by the Commission and approve them in agreement with the Council.

It monitors the actions of the other EU bodies, and helps to set the EU's budget. Its members (MEPs) are elected every five years by the people of every member country. The Parliament meets in Strasbourg and Brussels.

The European Commission

It proposes new laws for the Council and Parliament to consider, and implements existing ones. Every member country nominates one Commissioner. Its head is the President of the Commission.

Since November 1, 2004, the President of the Commission is be José Manuel Durão Barroso, the former Prime Minister of Portugal. The Commission is based in Brussels.

The European Court

It ensures that European law agreed by all member countries is observed and applied fairly (though some issues such as foreign policy are outside its jurisdiction). Each member country sends a judge to the Court, which is based in Luxembourg.


First Published: Oct 09, 2006 16:22 IST