Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Major gains by ruling parties in byelections

Ruling parties won six of the seven Assembly byelections held in six states while the the seventh seat was won by the Samajwadi Party.

india Updated: Mar 01, 2003 22:41 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Ruling parties on Saturday won six of the seven Assembly byelections held in six states while the the seventh seat was won bythe Samajwadi Party which clinched the prestigious Haidergarh Assembly in Uttar Pradesh.

The Congress won two seats in Humnabad (Karnataka) and Ratabari (Assam). The two seats at stake in UP were shared by the BSP and the SP with the former tasting success in the prestigious Gauriganj Assembly seat falling in Amethi Parliamentary constituency.

The PDP won in Pampore in Jammu and Kashmir while the AIADMK triumphed in Sattankulam in Tamil Nadu. The candidate of the NCP, a constituent of the Congress-led ruling coalition in Maharashtra emerged victorious in Bokharden.

The BSP wrested from the Congress the Gauriganj Assembly seat with its candidate Jang Bahadur defeating Fateh Bahadur of Congress by an impressive margin of 7,504 votes.

The Haidergarh Assembly seat which fell vacant after senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh won his election to the Rajya Sabha was bagged by SP's Arvind Singh Gope defeating his BSP rival. The BJP had to be content with the third place.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammed Sayeed's Peoples' Democratic Party retained the Pampore seat with its nominee Zahoor Ahmad Mir defeating National Conference's Mushtaq Ahmad Kuchhay by 12,782 votes.

Mir, was elected in place of his father Abdul Aziz who was gunned down by militants last December. His victory brings to 17 the strength of PDP in the 87-member house. PDP won 16 seats in the September elections while an independent MLA Maulvi Abdul Rashid joined the party two months ago.

First Published: Mar 01, 2003 13:25 IST