HT Image
HT Image

Northern Railway, Central Railway enter last four

NORTHERN RAILWAY Gorakhpur and Central Railway Mumbai have sailed in to the last four of the Ramesh Chandra Sharma memorial All India Gold Cup football tournament being organised by Central Gymkhana played at Christian College grounds on Thursday.
None | By HT Correspondent, Indore
PUBLISHED ON JAN 19, 2007 03:07 PM IST

NORTHERN RAILWAY Gorakhpur and Central Railway Mumbai have sailed in to the last four of the Ramesh Chandra Sharma memorial All India Gold Cup football tournament being organised by Central Gymkhana played at Christian College grounds on Thursday.

In the first quarterfinals, Northern Railways, Gorakhpur defeated IFA Kolkota by 2-1 while in the second match Central Railway Mumbai had no difficulty in beating their rivals Bhilai Brothers by 2-0 to sail in to the last four. On Friday, in the quarterfinal matches, Sporting Union Indore will meet Maharashtra Police, Mumbai and Rajmohallah Indore will meet Nagpur XI.

Customs win by 130 runs
THE TWO-DAY Central Revenue sub-zonal sports meet concluded on Wednesday at Daly College grounds. On the final day, hosts Customs and Central Excise defeated Income Tax Department by 110 runs. Batting first, Central Excise scored 240. Anil Acharya, 50, Rajesh Mudaliar, 50, Avinash Joshi, 45, and Bharat Verma, 40, helped the team score 240. In reply, the Income Tax Department were out for 110. Kushal Chore, Ajay Sen and Sandeep Karnik captured three wickets each for Central Excise. On the second day, various athletic events are being held. The Central Excise and Income Tax departments dominated the events.

B’ball: Bhavan’s in last four
ADVANCE ACADEMY, Daly College, Bhavan’s and Emerald Heights International School on Thursday sailed into the last four of the inter-school basketball tournament organised by Bhavan’s Prominent School at their grounds. In the boys’ category Standard Public School beat Daly College 13-7, Emerald Heights International School beat Wish Wood 21-8, Advance Academy beat National Public School 17-6, hosts Bhavan’s defeated Vidyasagar 31-16.

In the girls’ category Indore Public School beat Bhavan’s 22-10, Emerald Heights International School beat Vidyasagar 18-6, Daily College beat DPS 20-10 and Advance Academy beat Emerald ‘B’ 12-5 to enter last four. Vishwamitra Award recipient Ram Rao Nagle was the chief guest on the inaugural day and was introduced to players.

Prerna Chouhan to represent India
KIRANJEET KAUR of Punjab will lead the Indian women’s junior team to take part in the 18th Junior Women’s Asian Basketball tournament to be held at Bangkok. The Basketball Federation of India Secretary General Harish Sharma has announced a 12-member team to take part in the tournament. The camp will continue till January 24. Prerna Chouhan from Madhya Pradesh has been selected in the Indian squad.

The other members of the team are: Harminder Kaur Punjab, Akansha Singh, Raspreet Kaur, Pratima Singh and Harjeet Kaur all from Delhi, Akansha Singh and Pushpa M from Chhattisgarh, Krithika L from Karnataka, Balwinder Kaur from HP, Prerna Chouhan from Madhya Pradesh and Reshma G from Kerala Standby: Navneet Kaur Chhattisgarh. Rajesh Patel will be the coach and Zarina Zaidi will assist Rajesh Patel.

Madhya Pradesh Basketball president BJM Sharma and other office bearers have congratulated Prerna Chouhan of MP for being selected in the Indian team.

Shachi wins singles title
NATIONAL PUBLIC Students excelled in the U-19 National Badminton tournament being played at Amristar recently. Shachi Rege won the singles title and along with her school mate Apoorva Pathak won the doubles title to bring laurels to their school. School principal Sapna Chitnis and other staff members have congratulated both the students for their performance.

CTW defeat Mhow Blues
CADET TRAINING Wing (CTW), Prakash Hockey Club Indore and Tahir Club of Indore won their matches in the inaugural Late Shankar Laxman memorial hockey tournament being played at the Late Shankar Laxman stadium in Mhow on Thursday. Cadet Training Wing (CTW) defeated Mhow Blues by 3-1 while Prakash Hockey Club Indore defeated Dewas District Hockey Club by 5-0.

Tahir Club of Indore got a walkover, as the team of Young Boys Mhow did not turn up for the match. The historical Garrison ground was formally dedicated to the great hockey player late Padmashri Shankar Lakshman on Tuesday. Infantry School Commandant Lt Gen Satyavir Yadav formally inaugurated the newly-developed Captain Shankar Lakshman stadium and also the Shankar Lakshman memorial hockey tournament at a programme organised at the stadium.

Lt Gen Yadav, while addressing the gathering, announced renaming the stadium and inaugurated it. Lakshman’s wife Shantibai, son Manohar, 26 Maratha Light Infantry Commanding Officer Col V N Sawant and other Army officials were also present on the occasion.

IG praises journalists
INDORE RANGE IG Dr Rajendra Kumar during the prize distribution ceremony for various disciplines held in memory of Kailash Vyas said that Pen Soldiers performed well in sports fields too. Rajendra said that he is happy to see that the media are not only inclined to their pen but also in sports field. National cricket selector and MPCA secretary Sanjay Jagdale said that he is happy to see that journalists not only play cricket but also take part in various games.

Earlier, only cricket match was played between Administration XI and Journalist XI but now all the games are being played by the mediapersons and said that the credit should go to Indore Municipal Corporation for joining with Indore Press Club to organise such tournaments. Indore Mayor Dr Uma Shashi Sharma also spoke during the occasion.

Story Saved