Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Opposition members suspended from M'rashtra assembly

The Assembly Speaker, Babasaheb Kupekar suspends 11 Opposition MLAs till December 15 for breach of discipline, reports Pradip Kumar Maitra.

india Updated: Dec 06, 2006 21:49 IST
Pradip Kumar Maitra
Pradip Kumar Maitra

In an apparent retaliation, the Assembly Speaker, Babasaheb Kupekar suspended 11 Opposition MLAs till December 15 for breach of discipline and indecent behaviour in the lower House on Tuesday.

The opposition members, who were suspended include: Girish Mahajan, Sandeep Dhurve, Devendra Fadnavis, Baburao Pacharne, Suresh Khade, Dilip Yelgaonkar, (all Bharatiya Janata Party), Sunil Dhande, Sharad Dhamale, Eknath Shinde, Ravindra Gaikwad (all Shiv Sena) and Swatantra Bharat Party member Wamanrao Chatap.

The suspension of these members were moved by the Parliamentary Affairs minister, Harshawardhan Deshmukh on Tuesday itself when they staged a mock funeral procession in the house to highlights the growing suicides of debt-ridden farmers of Vidarbha. They even went to the well and chanted, "ram naam satya hai" to symbolise that the dying farmers were not getting solace from the Vilasrao Deshmukh government.

The chief minister, Deshmukh, who was present in the House intervened into the matter and said that the government would not insist on suspension but expected the leader of the Opposition, Ramdas Kadam to express regret on the happening. However, Kadam refused to do so.

The speaker Kupekar, who reserved his ruling on Tuesday, finally suspended these members within hours the Opposition moved a no-faith motion against the chair and the government.

Email Pradip Kumar Maitra:

First Published: Dec 06, 2006 21:49 IST