Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pakistan to introduce Rs 5,000 note

It has denomination currency notes of Rs 10, Rs 20, Rs 50, Rs 100, Rs 500 and Rs 1,000.

india Updated: May 26, 2006 11:47 IST

Pakistan is to introduce new currency notes of Rs 5,000 denomination shortly.

State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) Governor Shamshad Akhtar on Thursday called on President Pervez Musharraf and presented to him prototypes of the new Rs 5,000 and Rs 10 denomination currency notes.

The governor briefed the President about various features of the new currency notes, saying they contained special fabric and conformed to international standards.

She also said that special security features of the new notes would make it extremely difficult for anyone to produce their counterfeits.

Pakistan presently has Rs 10, Rs 20, Rs 50, Rs 100, Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 denomination currency notes.

The Rs 20 note, which was recently introduced, will be withdrawn by the SBP shortly.

First Published: May 26, 2006 11:38 IST