New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jun 05, 2020-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi


PM Modi calls up Sonia, other leaders after accord signed

After the Naga peace accord was signed, PM Narendra Modi called Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury, former PM HD Deve Gowda, leader of the opposition in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, NCP president Sharad Pawar and other regional parties' chiefs.

india Updated: Aug 04, 2015 00:29 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Narendra-Modi-talking-at-the-Naga-peace-accord-at-7-RCR-on-Monday-HT-photo-via-YouTube( )

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday dialled opposition leaders, including Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and former PM Manmohan Singh, to brief them about the signing of a peace accord between New Delhi and the Nationalist Socialist Council of Nagaland (NSCN).

Modi’s telephone calls to opposition leaders — although on a different matter — come against the backdrop of a stalemate in Parliament that may further intensify following the suspension of 25 Congress MPs.

Sources told HT that when Modi spoke to CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury to brief him about the peace deal “achievement” that could not be made in the last 60 years, the latter pointed out that such accords takes years of concerted efforts. “That is true. Still, it is a big achievement,” Modi is learnt to have told Yechury.

In his conversation with former PM HD Deve Gowda, Modi told the JD (S) leader that the process he had started 18 years back had been accomplished on Monday. In a separate call to leader of opposition in Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge, Modi said, “We have achieved it (peace accord) after 18 years.”

A release from the government said the PM also spoke to Janata Dal (United) chief Sharad Yadav, SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, BSP chief Mayawati, Nationalist Congress Party president Sharad Pawar, Tamil Nadu CM J Jayalalithaa, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and DMK leader M Karunanidhi. Nagaland governor Padmanabha Acharya and CM T R Zeliang also received a call from the PM.

Sign In to continue reading