HT Image
HT Image

Shekhawat to be chief guest at India Day parade

The Vice President will be chief guests at the FIA's Silver Jubilee India Day parade in Manhattan.
PTI | By, New Delhi
PUBLISHED ON JAN 31, 2005 06:14 PM IST

Vice President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat will be one of the chief guests for the Federation of Indian Associations' (FIA) Silver Jubilee India Day parade in Manhattan this August 21, Federation President Dr. Sudhir Parikh has said.

Chairing the first executive meeting of FIA Tri-state, Dr. Parikh said that the Vice President had officially agreed to accept Parikh's invitation to attend.

"I was fortunate enough to be able to invite the Vice President formally in person," Dr. Parikh explained. "And he has accepted, confirming to me his participation in the event."

Dr. Parikh went on to note that his goal this year is to make the Silver Jubilee a memorable event, with stalwarts from entertainment and as well as political circles in New Delhi. "We've also approached Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and NRI minister Jagdish Tytler," Parikh added.

The Indian Independence Day celebration and the parade through Manhattan is largest outside India and has attracted many international stars in previous years. The event is considered the signature program for Indians in New York.

Aside from the parade, the FIA executive committee has also decided to sponsor a Gujarati performance on March 6 to raise funds for tsunami victims.

The Federation of Indian Associations is the oldest and largest umbrella organization of Indians in the Tri-state area.

The FIA was one of the first organizations in US to offer help, with Dr. Parikh himself flying directly to disaster-stricken areas of southern India. Parikh visited several villages in Chennai and has offered to participate with the Art of Living Foundation in their relief efforts.

The new executive committee of the FIA comprises Dr Sudhir Parikh (President), Jayesh Patel (Executive VP) Sudha Shekhar (VP), Shobhana Patel (Secretary) Rajeev Gowda (Joint Secretary), Jaydeep Patel (Treasurer) and R. Radhakrishnan (Immediate Past President).

Story Saved