Sourav out in the cold again for ODIs

Updated on Jan 29, 2006 08:07 PM IST

Zaheer replaced JP Yadav in the only change from the last ODI squad that drew 2-2 with S Africa in November.

HT Image
HT Image
None | ByPress Trust of India, Mumbai

Selectors rewarded Zaheer Khan for his consistent performance by including the left-arm paceman in a 15-member squad named on Sunday for the five ODIs against Pakistan.

Zaheer, who missed India's last two one-day series, replaced Railways' JP Yadav in the only change from the squad that drew 2-2 with South Africa in November.

The Baroda paceman impressed in the second Test against Pakistan on a flat track and would now stay on for the one-dayers, the first of which begins in Peshawar on February 6.

"We decided to retain the combination that played against Sri Lanka and South Africa. This is the best team that we have chosen," BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah told after announcing the team.

Out-of-favour Sourav Ganguly, who was dropped from the one-day squad last year and also stripped of his captaincy, found himself ignored once again from the one-day scheme of things.

Ganguly, currently playing in the Test series, would take the flight home along with Parthiv Patel, VVS Laxman, Anil Kumble and Wasim Jaffer once the Karachi match ends next week.

Shah said Ganguly's name was discussed by the Selection Committee, headed by Kiran More, but eventually it was decided to retain the winning combination.

The squad:  Rahul Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohd Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, Murali Kartik, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, February 03, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals