Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 14, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

For Rising Pune Supergiant, sadly it wasn’t a fairytale finish: Steve Smith

Mumbai Indians romped to third Indian Premier League (IPL) title with a thrilling one run win over Steve Smith-led Rising Pune Supergiant in the final. Mitchell Johnson picked two wickets for MI in the last over

ipl 2017 Updated: May 22, 2017 01:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
IPL 2017,Steve Smith,Rising Pune Supergiant
Rising Pune Supergiant captain Steve Smith failed to lead his team to a win against Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 final.(BCCI)

Steve Smith’s Rising Pune Supergiant did almost everything right against Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 final, except the last few overs.(MI vs RPS: IPL T20 SCORECARD)

Chasing 130 to win, Pune looked primed for their maiden IPL title with skipper Steve Smith leading the charge and the team needing 11 runs off the final over with seven wickets in hand. But RPS could score only nine.

Read | Highlights - IPL 2017 final, Rising Pune Supergiant vs Mumbai Indians: MI clinch record third IPL title

“It’s a hard one to swallow. I am proud of the way the boys played throughout the tournament. They (Mumbai) were probably below par with 129. It was a tough wicket to get runs, everyone could see that,” Smith, who top-scored for RPS with a 50-ball 51, said after the match.

“Just couldn’t get over the line. We had wickets in hand as well. It was only one or two good overs that we needed to get in front so credit to them. They did a terrific job to restrict us. It’s been fantastic, I’ve learnt so much from the IPL over the last two years. I’d like to thank my franchise.

Read | Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant, become 3-time champions with IPL 2017 win

“Who knows where we’ll be next year. Just disappointing to lose, it wasn’t the fairy tale finish we wanted.”

Australian MItchell Johnson dismissed Manoj Tiwary and Smith off successive deliveries while Dan Christian ran himself out in the final ball of the over which yielded nine runs.

Read | Mumbai Indians ‘masters’ of IPL 2017 due to players’ ‘freedom’: Rohit Sharma

Smith topscored for his side with 51 off 50 balls while Ajinkya Rahane made 44 upfront but Pune never got the late assault despite having wickets in hand and finished 128-6.

First Published: May 22, 2017 01:35 IST