Lok Sabha elections: Rajsamand to be a tough call for BJP

Bharatiya Janata Party is having a tough time finding a suitable counter for last-time winner Congress candidate from Rajsamand constituency who commands equal support from all the diverse support groups.

jaipur Updated: Mar 07, 2014 15:59 IST

The Congress might repeat Gopal Singh Shekhawat from the constituency which was formed during the delimitation drive in 2008.

But what makes the constituency unique is the fact that it holds together politically strong groups of Brahmin, Jat, Gujjar and Rajput communities. Finding a leader who appeals to all the communities is what has put the BJP in a fix. Shekhawat enjoys the confidence of Merta, Degana and Jaitaran’s Jat and Gurjar voters as well as his Rajput community.

Presently, Rajsamand Lok Sabha constituency comprises eight assembly segments — Beawar, Merta, Degana, Jaitaran, Bhim, Kumbhalgarh, Rajsamand and Nathdwara.

This constituency has more than 3 lakh Rajput voters. Both the Congress and the BJP are trying to field Rajput candidate on this seat.

During 2009 elections, the BJP fielded Rasa Singh Rawat from the seat. But, delimitation had distanced his Rawat support group from the earstwhile Ajmer seat.

He couldn’t get the faith of Kumbhalgarh,Nathadwara and Rajsamand voters who rejected him as an outsider.

Now senior BJP leader Hariom Singh Rathore,58, is the front runner for this seat. Rathore comes from Kelwa town and is called local man. He served the party as district president twice and Zila Pramukh in 1995-2000. However, he is confident of the BJP win no matter who is fielded as candidate this time.

“We had won all the eight constituencies with a margin of over 2 lakh votes and the party workers is very excited in the name of Narendra Modi as our prime ministerial candidate. The total scenario is in our fevour but we are not over-confident and gradually working to build a strong organisation in Rajsamand”,Hari Om Singh said.

Some other BJP leaders Bahadur Singh Rathoreand Mohan Singh Chauhan (Rajsamnd),Veeram Dev Singh,Mukesh Dadhich and Navratan Mal Singhvi(Merta), Nagaur district president Mohan Raj Upadhyay and Ram Kumar Bhutra,Hemraj Diwakar and Dilip Singh Bachwari(Degana) and Indra Singh Bagawas of Beawar are also in the line for Rajsamand ticket from the BJP.

Congress sitting MP Gopal Singh Shekhawat “Idwa” belongs from Marwar Degana (Nagaur) area and this was the first things which took the results in his fevour.

“ When questioned about Dr. CP Joshi’s candidature from Rajsamand,Shekhawat politely replied” He is such a big Congress leader and a great man indeed. He came to cast his vote at Nathadwara while he was contesting from Bhilwara. This seat is his and I am the custodian hear to serve the people on his behalf. if he comes I would welcome him,” Shekhawat replied.

First Published: Mar 07, 2014 15:52 IST