New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jan 22, 2020-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020
Home / Constituency Watch / Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Alathur, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Alathur, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Alathur, Kerala.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 19, 2019 11:04 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Electronic voting machines being checked ahead an election.
Electronic voting machines being checked ahead an election.(Shankar Mourya/HT Photo)

Alathur is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala.

Then Alathur Lok Sabha constituency came into existence in 2008 during the delimitation of parliamentary and assembly constituencies in that year. From 1977 till 2009, it was known as the Ottappalam Lok Sabha constituency. When it was Ottappalam Lok Sabha constituency, it was represented thrice by former President KR Narayanan.

The seat is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste community.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

In the two elections it has witnessed as a Lok Sabha constituency, Alathur has voted in CPI(M)’s PK Biju over Congress’s candidates NK Sudheer and Sheeba in 2009 and 2014, respectively.

Apart from Palakkad, the CPI(M) will be looking for a victory in the Alathur Lok Sabha constituency and is likely to field PK Biju once again as its candidate from the seat.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Alathur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Alathur

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Dr. Jayan C Kuthanur (BSP) Dr. PK Biju (CPI-M) Ramya Haridas (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: P.K.Biju, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 37,312

Runner up name, party: Sheeba, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 928,656

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 53

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,036

Number of women voters: 4,74,370