New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 14, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Oct 14, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Attingal, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Attingal, Kerala.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 19, 2019 11:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Voters show their ink marks after having cast their vote.
Voters show their ink marks after having cast their vote.(Raj K Raj/HT Photo)

The Attingal Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

The Attingal Lok Sabha constituency was carved out of the Chirayinkeezhu constituency during the delimitation exercise of 2008.

Traditionally, the winning candidates from the Attingal Lok Sabha constituency have either been Muslims or Ezhavas. The Dalit community too has a strong presence here.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the constituency had voted in CPI(M)’s A Sampath who defeated Congress’s Bindhu Krishna by a margin of 69,378 votes.

The CPI(M) has again fielded A Sampath its candidate from the constituency.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Attingal Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Attingal

Polling Date: April 23 (Phase 3)

2019 candidates: Adoor Prakash (Congress), Sobhasurendran (BJP), Dr. A Sampath (CPI-M) and Vipinlal Palode (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: A Sampath, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 69378

Runner up name, party: Bindhu Krishna, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 859,365

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 75

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,118

Number of women voters: 463,104

First Published: Mar 20, 2019 17:27 IST

top news