New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 15, 2019-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Sunday, Sep 15, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Idukki, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Idukki, Kerala.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 19, 2019 13:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delh
Polling staff check Electronic Voting Machines inside a strong room.
Polling staff check Electronic Voting Machines inside a strong room.(Arijit Sen/HT Photo)

Idukki is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

Idukki has been a Congress bastion for decades since 1977. The Congress hold on the constituency was finally broken in 1999 by K Francis George of the Kerala Congress (Joseph) group that broke the UDF monopoly in the constituency.

In 2009, the Congress, riding on PT Thomas, managed to recapture the constituency, only to lose it in 2014 to the LDF which fielded independent candidate Joice George.

Though P T Thomas of the Congress reclaimed the constituency in 2009, the LDF recaptured it by fielding Joice George, an Independent, in 2014.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

This time, the LDF is hoping to retain the seat and has once again fielded Joice George, while the Congress is banking its hopes on Dean Kuriakose. Kuriakose had lost to Joice George in the 2014 Lok Sabha election by a margin of about 50,000 votes.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Idukki Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Idukki

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Dean Kuriakose (Congress), Leethesh PT (BSP), Joice George (Independent)

Sitting MP, Party: Adv. Joice George, Independent

Winning margin in 2014: 50,542

Runner up name, party: Adv. Dean Kuriakose, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 820,267

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 80

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,145

Number of women voters: 3,94,717

First Published: Mar 17, 2019 14:05 IST