Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 15, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP wins Panvel, Congress Bhiwandi, no clear majority in Malegaon civic polls

Mumbai city news: CM Fadnavis had urged voters in Panvel to not only propel the BJP to victory, but to also help the party reach a “thumping majority”

mumbai Updated: May 28, 2017 01:35 IST
Mumbai city news,Bhiwandi civic polls,Congress
BJP workers celebrate in Panvel.(Praful Gangurde/HT)

With the counting of votes in three civic bodies in Maharashtra soon to end, it is clear that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won a majority in Panvel, while the Congress emerged victorious in Bhiwandi. A fractured mandate was observed in Malegaon, where not a single party emerged with a clear majority.

Last Sunday, chief minister Devendra Fadnavis urged the voters of Panvel to not only propel the BJP to victory, but to also help the party reach a “thumping majority”. It seems as though the voters were impressed by the party’s promise of development as the BJP won 51 of 78 seats and emerged as the clear majority. It can now appoint the mayor of the Panvel City Municipal Corporation (PCMC).

The Peasants and Workers Party (PWP) bagged the second-most number of seats in the PCMC — 27. A large section of the population who voted for them are from Panvel’s rural areas. The Shiv Sena, the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) — which formed an alliance with the PWP to contest — all fared poorly.

The Congress won the Bhiwandi civic polls on Friday. It crossed the magic figure of 45, winning 47 seats to form the majority.

The BJP emerged as the second-largest winner, bagging 19 seats. The party surpassed its previous tally of eight seats. The party’s ally, the Konark Vikas Aghadi (KVA), secured four seats. The NCP, which formed an alliance with the Congress, failed to win a single seat. The Shiv Sena contested 57 seats, of which it won 12.

The Malegaon Municipal Corporation polls saw a hung verdict as none of the parties emerged as the majority. The Congress bagged 28 of 84 seats, followed by the NCP-Janata Dal alliance, which bagged 26 seats. The Shiv Sena secured 13 seats, while the BJP was reduced to the fourth spot with nine seats.

First Published: May 26, 2017 16:57 IST