Today in New Delhi, India
May 26, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DJ Asad wins big at first DJ awards

DJs Lloyd, Pearl and Bay Beat Collective also feature among winners, on a night Israeli DJ Skazi also performed.

music Updated: May 23, 2010 14:33 IST
Manali Shah
Manali Shah
Hindustan Times

The winners of the all-India online DJ war,, were declared on Friday at Blue Frog. DJ Asad won in the Trance category and also managed to bag DJ of The Year award. There were nine categories and the usual suspects won. DJ Pearl(House), DJ Ma Faiza(Electronica), DJ Sa(Hip hop) and DJ Lloyd(Bollywood), were some of the winners.

The nationwide competition took place online with fans voting for their favourties. The competition was conceived by Vishal Shetty and Eddie Cruzet, music entrepreneurs.

On winning, DJ Asad says, “I did not really expect to win, though I was hoping to. All the other nominees were good too. The line-up was so competitive that it made the win all the more worthwhile.”

Another winning spinner, DJ Lloyd says, “Frankly, I did expect to win. DJing for Music ka Maha Muqabla on Star Plus gave me a huge platform. My fan following increased as I reached out to people I never imagined I would connect to.”

The DJ fraternity feels such awards will go a long way in promoting DJs and getting them due recognition. DJ Lloyd says, “This is the right time to have such an event. However, it is just the beginning and there are many more music categories waiting to be recognised.”

Though such awards were presented for the very first time in India, many other countries have already done so. “The community has always been divided and there was a lot of competition. But now, there is some sense of unity and oneness and hence these awards were possible”, Ankur Tewari, who attended the night, says.

He adds, “There are a few excellent DJs and a few bad ones too. So, the ones who play good, interesting music are definitely a respected lot.” DJ Lloyd, who will soon be completing 20 years as a club DJ says, “Today’s DJs are rock stars. We DJs do get appropriate respect.”

Congratulating the other winners, DJ Asad says, “DJs Sa, Lloyd, Ma Faiza are big names. They were expected winners as they have a huge fan following.” DJ Lloyd said he felt winners like Sanjay Dutta and others were deserving.

Winners (People’s Choice)
DJ of the Year —
DJ Asad/ Freeaatmah
Trance — DJ Asad/Freeaatmah
House — DJ Pearl
Electronica — DJ Ma Faiza
Hip hop — DJ Sa
Bollywood — DJ Lloyd
Drum and Bass/Dub Step — Bay Beat Collective (BBC)
Techno — DJ 'G'
Rock — Blackjack!
Chillout — DJ Sunny Sunshine

First Published: May 23, 2010 12:53 IST